WranglerFollowing their critically acclaimed collaboration with John Grant on last year’s Creep Show project, Wrangler announce news of a new album, A Situation, released 28 February 2020 via Bella Union and two headline shows, in London and Manchester – details below. 

To celebrate the release the band have shared an extraordinary digital video for ‘Anthropocene’, a track about the collapse and fall of human civilisation.

Of the track Wrangler say, “We have left our mark on the world on which we walk. This is a soundtrack for the urban age. Sounds to lift us above the detritus which envelops and strangles us.” The video director Akiko Haruna adds, “The effect humans have on the planet is something that I am conscious of daily. Anthropocene shows our world, compressed onto the Wrangler logo. Over it looms three ugly heads, representing the human ego and how we might view ourselves as deities or Gods; the overseers of our world. Within the Wrangler world, we show a range of things happening in our current world such as sweatshops, deforestation, farming, fracking, sustainable energy, transport, etc. It was an immense privilege to work with 3D animator Ben Chan, who helped this world come to life. The situation is a serious one and I am very afraid, so to keep things bearable I like to force a slice of humour in everything. The space ship at the end is a little light relief from the situation; Escape. Realistically, I am much more for saving what we have and would rather not ditch our beautiful planet, but there’s nothing like a little space expedition to keep the options open.”

A Situation
1. Anthropocene
2. How To Start A Revolution
3. Machines Designed (To Eat You Up)
4. Mess
5. Knowledge Deficit
6. Rhizomatic
7. Anarchy Of Sound
8. Slide
9. A Situation
10. White Noise

28 Feb – Manchester, The White Hotel
29 Feb – London, Electrowerkz

A Situation will be released 28 February 2020 via Bella Union and is available to pre-order here:

Wrangler can be found via Facebook and Twitter where they tweet as @wearewrangler


Previous articleA Dog Called Money – Film Review
Next articleMick Ronson – Only After Dark – album review
Raised by music obsessive parents on a diet of Ska, Bowie, Queen… and the Bay City Rollers. Discovered dance music and heavy metal at the same time making for a strange brew of taste. I do this for the love of an art form which welcomes all types and speaks to us all. Find me on twitter @simontucker1979.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here