Youth (Killing Joke) announces debut solo album ‘Spinning Wheel’ !


Killing Joke bassist and award winning producer, Youth has announced that he will release his eagerly awaited debut solo album of lush melodic yearning psychedelic tinged pop classic on Youth Sounds / Cadiz Entertainment on the 19th of November 2021.


‘Spinning Wheel’, written, recorded and self – produced in Spain and London, is eleven brand new songs including the eponymously titled lead single which also features Simon Tong (guitar) and Samantha Marais (backing vocals) and is set for release in September.


Having spent the main part of the last forty years writing and producing for other artists, Youth thought it was time to start focusing on his own solo work and this collection of songs have been in progress for a long time. Growing up with the sound of 70’s pop radio and bands such as Smokie, Pilot and Bay City Rollers – some of the tracks here are a flashback to those times and the initial inspiration of a thirteen year old Youth to write his first songs. ‘Sha La Laa I Love You’ and ‘The King Of The Losers’ are intimate, honest and have a naïve and innocent pop sensibility that are underpinned with regret and loss. He’s also took inspiration from psychedelic pop and English folk rock and his own words, he was thinking –


“Everything from Nick Drake to Led Zeppelin, through a lens of Fairport tripping out with the Velvet Underground with a couple of Beach Boys, all the way to Cohen and Rodriguez, via Jim O Rourke, jamming with Fred Neil and Bert Janch and Michael Rother.


Towards the middle of the recordings I decided to remix all the songs with an electronic tech direction and it felt liberating to reimagine them in a more experimental electronic way”.


Album Track Listing:

  1. ‘Spinning Wheel’
  2. ‘Wooden Floor’
  3. ‘Charlotte Says’
  4. ‘Pure’
  5. ‘Charcoal Man’
  6. ‘That’s The Way’
  7. ‘Sha La Laa I Love You’
  8. ‘Hear The Dolphins’
  9. ‘The King Of the Losers’
  10. ‘Smiling’
  11. ‘Close My Eyes’


Youth has been there, seen it and done it. He has produced albums by the biggest superstars on the planet such as Paul McCartney and Pink Floyd, cult stars such as the Jesus and The Mary Chain, reggae legends like Toots and The Maytals  worked on records that have sold over 20 million and thrived in the deepest and weirdest underground dance scenes all over the world. From the wild sound of Killing Joke via blissed-out ambient and acid house and the mainstream of Crowded House and The Verve (his work on ‘Urban Hymns’ won him a BRIT Award for Best Producer) to pure pop. From creating some of the UK’s first ever hip hop beats in the early eighties to pioneering brand new 21st century methods for sonic immersion.


He’s also been a member of The Orb, Brilliant and Blue Pearl played bass for Kate Bush, and remixed everyone from U2 to Siouxsie & The Banshees, De La Soul, A Guy Called Gerald, Malcolm McLaren and Marc Almond. He continues to influence generations of producers and musicians and is without doubt one of the most adaptable and diverse musical figures of the modern age.


To coincide with the new album, Youth will be playing live dates in the very near future.

Previous articleSimple Minds announce special show at Edinburgh Summer Sessions
Next articleJaz Coleman (Killing Joke) : The John Robb interview
Award winning journalist and boss of Louder Than War. In a 30 year music writing career, John was the first to write about bands such as Stone Roses and Nirvana and has several best selling music books to his name. He constantly tours the world with Goldblade and the Membranes playing gigs or doing spoken word and speaking at music conferences.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here