Wu-Tang Clan: Necklace – single review and stream


Wu-Tang Clan – Necklace (Warner Bros.)

Nov 2014

With a new album due to drop next week Andy Carrington reviews the latest single to drop off the Wu-Tang Clan album.

‘Necklace’ returns to the dark, visionary sound of early ’90s Wu, paying tribute to one of the staples of old school Hip-Hop: big, gold chains. I was disappointed when I heard the first single ‘Keep Watch’ a few months back; prior to the sixth album, A Better Tomorrow, being released later this year, but this track is more encouraging.

RZA crafts an errie, cinematic mood with a number of intriguing samples. The vintage “Brother/ I think that necklace/ is causing you too much trouble” repeats on the hook; the steady-paced beat lingers and stalks its emcees, and they don’t hesitate to exercise their lyricism.

The production particularly compliments GZA and his clever, tiger-style delivery. ‘Necklace’ also features the return of Raekwon, since his public fallout with RZA. His delivery is urgent, it’s in your face:

“This the real thing/ big bling/ the chain swing
Try to swipe mines/ that’s a no no/ the God’s loco
Jury truckin’/ fancy spend stacks upon Delancey
Exhaust pipes coffin horse kicks.”

Cappadonna’s also on form; Ghostface’s anguished vocal style demands attention (as it usual does).

This is a nice track, and hopefully we’ll get to hear more like this when A Better Tomorrow drops, December 2nd.

Full track listing for the album is given below:

  • 1. ‘Ruckus in B Minor’
  • 2. ‘Felt’
  • 3. ’40th Street Black’ / ‘We Will Fight’
  • 4. ‘Mistaken Identity’
  • 5. ‘Hold the Heater’
  • 6. ‘Crushed Egos’
  • 7. ‘Keep Watch’
  • 8. ‘Miracle’
  • 9. ‘Preacher’s Daughter’
  • 10. ‘Pioneer the Frontier’
  • 11. ‘Necklace’
  • 12. ‘Ron O’Neal’
  • 13. ‘A Better Tomorrow’
  • 14. ‘Never Let Go’
  • 15. ‘Wu-Tang Reunion’


Listen to more by Wu-Tang Clan on their Soundcloud here. Check out Wu-Tang Clan’s website here: wutangclan.com and find them on Facebook.

All words by Andy Carrington. More writing by Andy can be found at his author archive. Be sure to also check out his website, too.

Previous articleCarter USM: Brixton, O2 Academy – live review aka ‘The Final Comedown’
Next articleZun Zun Egui Announce UK Tour For March – Plus More News About Their Second Album


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here