Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 10.45.29



From Damian O’Neill and The Monotones’ new L.P ‘Refit Revise Reprise’ out on the 4th May 2018 on Dimple Discs. Pledge link for the album is here 






Brand new album from the lead guitarist of the Undertones/That Petrol Emotion

Damian O’Neill, lead guitarist of the Undertones, is pleased to announce the release of his brand new solo record entitled ‘Refit Revise Reprise’, released 4th May via Dimple Discs. Under the moniker Damian O’Neill and the Monotones, the album comprises of 12 tracks recorded at home and Press Play Studios in South London.

Co-produced, engineered and mixed by Damian, along with Andy Ramsay (ex Stereolab) and Paul Tipler, the album features musical contributions from Sean O’Hagan from The High Llamas. You’ll hear new songs and instrumental tracks that are guaranteed to thrill and melt your heart plus Damian’s delved into his musical past and revamped selected self-penned Undertones/That Petrol Emotion songs too. It’s Glam/Stomp/Dreamy Pop with a cascade of guitars, vibes, organ, bells and whistles.

“I wanted to put a fresh slant on some old songs that I’d written and recorded. For instance, I was never entirely happy with The Undertones overcooked version of ‘The Love Parade’ and wanted to strip it down to its original 60’s Nuggets type influence. Did you know that The Love Parade was originally written by me and Mickey Bradley when we were in a short lived but legendary 60’s spoof band (with TPE’s Ciaran McLaughlin on drums) called The Wesleys back in ‘82?  Believe it or not, I have a precious cassette tape of us playing the song live for the first time at Mason’s bar in Derry and it was this recording I used as a template for my version which in actual fact is not a million miles away from how The Undertones perform it live onstage these days.” 

He goes on to say, “The same goes with TPE’s ‘Gnaw Mark’. I think the final result is now closer to how I’d originally imagined it. Also, ‘Everlasting Breath’ has been released in various guises over the years (bonus demo track on TPE’s final studio album ‘Fireproof’ for instance) but I’d like to think that this version is the definitive one. My original 1989 4- track demo of ‘Compulsion’ neatly rounds off the record”.

Damian is best known as the lead guitarist in pop punk legends, the Undertones. Known for such songs as ‘Teenage Kicks’, ‘Jimmy Jimmy’, ‘Here Comes The Summer’ and ‘My Perfect Cousin’, the band created 3-minute punk-pop gems that caught the attention of BBC radio DJ, John Peel.  Joining the band at the tender age of 14, following the departure of his older brother, Vincent, Damian wrote several singles and many album tracks during his Undertones career, often writing with bassist Michael Bradley. Together, they wrote ‘My Perfect Cousin’ which turned out to be the Undertones highest chart entry, reaching the top 10.

After the Undertones split, Damian switched to bass duties and joined his brother John in That Petrol Emotion, a critically acclaimed group with an intense focus on Irish civil rights issues. After two albums, John left the band in 1988 and Damian switched back to guitar to record three more studio albums and a live album ‘Final Flame’, which captured TPE at the peak of their powers.

He released his first solo record in 1998, a 4-track instrumental E.P called ‘No Flies On Frank’, on French label, Artefact, which was followed in 2001 by the experimental sampled themed album ‘A Quiet Revolution’ on Alan McGee’s Poptones label.

Since 2012, Damian and three of his former band-mates from That Petrol Emotion have been active as the Everlasting Yeah, playing “Keltic kosmische influenced musik mixed with joyous guitars and heartbeat harmonies.” Their first LP ‘Anima Rising’ was released in 2014. Later that year, he recorded and released a solo-single ‘Trapped in a Cage’ on Overground Records, taken from an acclaimed Gary Mitchell play called ‘Re-energize’ which they co-wrote, and which was staged in Derry and Belfast.

The Undertones reformed in 1999 with new singer Paul McLoone and Damian continues to perform with the band to a devoted following around the world. The band recorded two new albums, ‘Get What You Need’ in 2003 and ‘Dig Yourself Deep’ in 2007.


1.‘The Love Parade 2. ‘Sweet ‘n’ Sour’ 3. ‘Gnaw Mark’ 4. ‘Someone Like You’ 5. ‘Everlasting Breath’ 6. ‘Mundanian Dream’ 7. ‘Just Wanna Be With You’ 8. ‘Much Too Late’ 9. ‘No Time Like The Noir Time’ 10. ‘Angels in Tyrconnell St.’ 11. ‘Don’t Let Me Down Now’
12. ‘Compulsion’

Previous articleTim Burgess launches 11 day art and music event in Northwich
Next articlePublic Image Ltd (PiL) announce 40th Anniversary Tour + Boxset + Documentary;
Award winning journalist and boss of Louder Than War. In a 30 year music writing career, John was the first to write about bands such as Stone Roses and Nirvana and has several best selling music books to his name. He constantly tours the world with Goldblade and the Membranes playing gigs or doing spoken word and speaking at music conferences.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here