Thurston Moore launches his new band

The great Thurston Moore has announced his new band, CHELSEA LIGHT MOVING and they will release a self-titled album on Matador Records on March 4th.

Of course this is pretty exciting stuff. Thurston has been bending guitars into all sorts of great sonic shapes for years so where he takes it now is very enticing!


Listen: Empire Of Time – MP3


CHELSEA LIGHT MOVING are the current group led by Sonic Youth founder Thurston Moore. He is the songwriter and plays over-amped hyper electric guitar and sings with raw-glam-destructo vocals. The band is a four piece featuring Samara Lubelski, who has played violin with TM on his last two solo LPs (Demolished Thoughts and Trees Outside The Academy) and with CHELSEA LIGHT MOVING plays deep psyche pop metal bass guitar. Keith Wood, who records under the aegisHush Arbors, plays electric guitar with a pick forged from angel wing and John Moloney, aka “Pegasus”, approaches the drums like an asteroid hurtling toward Earth. The first CD self-titled was recorded in two spurious sessions with engineer Justin Pizzoferrato in Sone Lab, a killer studio in Easthampton MASSACHUSETTS. The band is ready to detonate any birthday party, wedding or hullaboo in any country, planet or stratosphere that doesn’t support right wing extremist NRA sucking bozo-ology.



01. Heavenmetal

02. Sleeping Where I Fall

03. Alighted

04. Empires of Time

05. Groovy & Linda

06. Lip

07. Burroughs

08. Mohawk

09. Frank O’Hara Hit

10. Communist Eyes


Touring US 2nd March -7th April. UK & Europe tour TBA.

Thurston Moore launches his new band

Previous articleVodka Lullabies and the Last Russian Dance: The Final Curtain for Kaizers Orchestra
Next articleAn open letter to David Bowie- the last lap of the thin white duke?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here