The House Of Love to release 3CD 'definitive edition' of debut album

The House Of Love to release 3CD ‘definitive edition’ of debut album

The House Of Love have announced details of the re-issue of their seminal self-titled debut album on December 10th 2012. Released via Cherry Red, the album will be available as an expanded 3-CD set featuring the original album, a disc of singles, B-Sides and rarities and a final disc of previously unreleased mixes and demos.

The re-issue will come lavishly packaged, featuring the definitive original artwork plus extensive new sleeve notes.

The band’s debut long player was first released on Creation Records in 1988 following their much-acclaimed single, ‘Christine’. The 10-track album, featuring classic tracks such as ‘Hope, Man To Child & Love In A Car’ was quickly hailed as one of the definitive independent releases of the late 1980’s.

The band initially re-formed in 2005 to release the warmly received long player, Days Run Away. This incarnation of the House of Love saw original members Guy Chadwick and Terry Bickers re-united for the first time in over a decade and they have been playing intermittently since.

The House Of Love are also set to release a new studio album in early 2013.

According to a post on Facebook, the band is hoping to upload some of the unissued tracks soon, though no details regarding that has been posted yet.

The tracklisting of the 3-CD set is as follows:

Disc 1: The House Of Love
1. Christine
2. Hope
3. Road
4. Sulphur
5. Man To Child
6. Salome
7. Love In A Car
8. Happy
9. Fisherman’s Tale
10. Touch Me
Bonus tracks:
11. Shine On (Demo – Bonus 7”)
12. Christine (Demo – Bonus 7”)

Disc 2: Singles, B-Sides, Rarities
1. Shine On
2. Love
3. Flow
4. Real Animal
5. Plastic
6. Nothing To Me
7. The Hill
8. Loneliness Is A Gun
9. The Hedonist
10. Welt
11. Destroy The Heart
12. Blind
13. Mr. Jo
14. Destroy The Heart (Demo)
15. Shine On (Fuck Version)
16. I Don’t Know Why I Love You Like I Do (Demo)
17. Love In A Car (Live – Previously Unissued)
18. Destroy The Heart (Live – Previously Unissued)
19. I Wanna Be Your Dog (Live – Previously Unissued)

Disc 3: Previously Unissued Mixes & Demos
1. Shine On (Guy Chadwick Solo Demo)
2. Touch Me (Demo 1)
3. Real Animal (Demo)
4. Happy (Demo 1)
5. Hold On Me (16 Track Demo)
6. Christine (16 Track Demo)
7. Modern World (Demo)
8. Salome *
9. Man To Child *
10. Hope *
11. Love In A Car *
12. Touch Me *
13. Road *
14. Fisherman’s Tale *
15. Happy (Demo 2)
16. Sulphur *
17. Real Animal (16 Track Demo)
18. Little Girl (alias Mr Jo) *
19. Shine On (Band Demo)

* = alternative version

Previous articleLawrence of Belgravia screening plus Q&A with Dave Haslam
Next articleHazel O’Connor in conversation…’Breaking Glass’, tour dates and more
Phil Newall is from The Wirral - he earns his living not writing about music nor playing music...though sorely wishes he could. He was fortunate enough to see many of the first generation punk bands when they played the U18's matinee shows at Eric's, Liverpool. As an attendee at Eric's he was exposed to punk rock, dub reggae, art rock, and all manner of weirdness; as a customer at Probe Records he was variously served and scowled at by Pete Wylie and Pete Burns - he has written for Record Collector, Whisperin & Hollerin, and Spiral Scratch and wanted to write a book detailing the Liverpool punk scene; however with 'Head-On' Julian Cope beat him to it...and frankly did a much better job.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here