15th Feb 2013

SupaJamma are a Manchester band who draw their influences from rock, punk, electro, dub, hip hop to name a few. They recently took themselves over to Yorkshire for a gig at Holmfirth’s Picturedome which Louder Than War were also present at in the form of our photographer (and for this review writer too) Elspeth Moore.

All the way from Mcr the band took to the stage, no airs or graces, no matching suits or pointy boots, these blokes were here for one reason only and that was the music.

Straight into Hope and Prey the crowd listened politely, NOT what Martin (Sugar) Merchants wanted, he demanded more from crowd awaiting Lee “Scratch” Perry and after a couple of songs he got it. Vague smiles turned into head bobbing; then tapping progressed to leg twitching; by the third song the crowd had been won over.

Living up to their name SupaJamma, Martin could change the song or order of the playlist to suit himself with the band having to follow the music direction, so obliged to jam.

Describing the genre can only be done in a long stream of words, many I’ve never used before, so here goes … Rock-Ragga-Toasting-Soul-Indie-Jamaican-Dub. More of an experience than just a performance.

Although they would be a great headliner in their own right they
were a brilliant warm up band for His Majesty LSP. perfectly chosen as his aperitif.










Vocals – Martin (Sugar) Merchant
Guitar – Lord Bevs (the Divine)
Bass – Simon Collier
Keys & Backing Vocals – Steve Wilson
Drums & Backing Vocals – Dan Adams

Track’s played:

1 -‘ Hope & Prey’ – first outing for this tune & will be on the album.
2 – ‘Madaboutit’ – second single we did
3 – ‘Mr Promoter’ – one for the new album & always a vocal improv for Mr Merchant
4 – ‘Talk about me Brown’, Talk about me Black – one for the new album
5 – ‘It’s Alright’
6 – ‘Rudi’ long time gig favourite & now recorded for the first time for Distant Drums.
7 – ‘Bankrobber’ – wasn’t supposed to be in the set as every time we play it Sugar says it’s the last time, but again he dropped it in.
8 – ‘We Run Tings’ – next single due at the end of April.

SupaJamma’s website can be found HERE. They’re on Facebook HERE and Twitter HERE.

All images by Elspeth Moore. You can see more from Elspeth on LTW here.

Previous articleSavages: Electric Ballroom, London – live review
Next articleForthcoming Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry film ‘Vision Of Paradise’ launches Kickstarter campaign + LTW exclusive video clip


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here