So This is Permanence – the lyrics and notebooks of Ian Curtis; available for pre-order

So This is Permanence – the lyrics and notebooks of Ian Curtis

Faber are pleased to announce the imminent publication of So This Is Permanence: Lyrics and Notebooks, edited by Jon Savage, with a foreword by Deborah Curtis. So This Is Permanence is a collection of the intensely personal writings of one of the most enigmatic and influential songwriters and performers of the late twentieth century, Joy Division’s Ian Curtis.

The songs of Joy Division were born of Manchester in the late seventies and of Ian Curtis’s inner tragedies, as he battled depression, epilepsy and debilitating stage fright. Ian Curtis committed suicide in 1980, on the eve of the band’s first American tour.

Interspersed with the lyrics are previously unpublished facsimile pages of Ian’s notebooks, which throw his lyrics into relief and cast light on the creative process of this influential and legendary songwriter.

Ian Curtis was born in Stretford, Lancashire and grew up in Macclesfield. Joy Division released two seminal post-punk albums: Unknown Pleasures (1979) and Closer (1980).

– Every copy will be signed by the surviving members of Joy Division (Peter Hook, Stephen Morris and Bernard Sumner) plus Deborah Curtis and Jon Savage.
– Limited to 200 copies worldwide @ £200 per copy.
– 304pp as per standard edition, plus tipped-in signed and numbered limitation page
– Book to be full-bound in pale grey cloth, title blocked on front and spine in grey foil.
– Inside front of case to have paper envelope attached, containing exclusive high-quality print reproduction of ‘She’s Lost Control’ lyrics as per notebooks, also to be signed and numbered
– Black, blind-blocked, cloth-covered slipcase.
– Brown paper wrapped and numbered label

Pre-Order HERE

Previous articleIggy Pop contributes vocals and lyrics to 2 tracks on new Tomoyasu Hotei album
Next articleEcho And The Bunnymen announce autumn UK tour


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here