Screen Shot 2017-07-12 at 17.21.19












Four LP Boxed Set Spotlights The Group’s
Early Years With Singles, EPs And More 


180-Gram Vinyl and Digital Versions Available On 1st September



The Sisters of Mercy will continue to spotlight different eras of its acclaimed discography this summer with a new vinyl box set that focuses on the band’s early years, as well as their last officially released studio recordings.


The band will tour Europe with the Membranes in September.


Available on 1st SeptemberSome Girls Wander By Mistake includes four 180-gram vinyl records. In addition, the remastered music will also be released digitally. The Sisters of Mercy, led by founder Andrew Eldritch, will tour Europe this summer. A complete list of those tour dates are listed below.


Originally released in 1992, the double compilation LP Some Girls Wander By Mistake retraces The Sisters Of Mercy’s formative years and their rise to cult acclaim. It includes three songs the group originally issued on 45rpm on their own Merciful Release imprint in 1980: ‘The Damage Done’‘Watch’, and ‘Home Of The Hit-Men’. Also included in this set is the band’s 1982 follow-up single: ‘Body Electric’ and ‘Adrenochrome’.


Arranged in non-chronological order, Some Girls Wander By Mistake begins with all four songs from The Sisters of Mercy’s first 12” EP Alice, which was originally released in 1983. The music – produced by Psychedelic Furs’ guitarist John Ashton – includes the EP’s title track, a cover of the Stooges ‘1969’ and more.


The first LP’s flipside collects music that originally appeared on The Sisters Of Mercy’s second EP, The Reptile House (1983), including ‘Kiss The Carpet,’ ‘Burn,’ and the haunting‘Lights.’ Later that year the band released the single ‘Temple of Love’ backed with ‘Heartland’ and a cover the Rolling Stones’ ‘Gimme Shelter’, all of which are included here.


Some Girls Wander By Mistake also includes music from two 12” singles. The first is a re-recorded version of ‘Temple of Love’ from 1992 that features Israeli vocalist Ofra Haza, and remains the Sisters’ biggest international hit, peaking at number 3 in the UK charts. The second is ‘Under The Gun’, their final release, from 1993, which includes an updated version of ‘Alice’.


This collection’s title comes from a lyric in the Leonard Cohen song ‘Teachers’, a track the Sisters cover frequently in concert. In fact, ‘Teachers’ appears on the same album as the song ‘Sisters of Mercy’, which inspired the band’s name.



Track Listing


Side One


  1. “Alice”
  2. “Floorshow”
  3. “Phantom”
  4. “1969”

Side Two

  1. “Kiss The Carpet”
  2. “Lights”
  3. “Valentine”
  4. “Fix”
  5. “Burn”
  6. “Kiss The Carpet” – Reprise


Side Three

  1. “Temple Of Love” – Extended Version 1983
  2. “Heartland”
  3. “Gimme Shelter”


Side Four

  1. “The Damage Done”
  2. “Watch”
  3. “Home Of The Hit-Men”
  4. “Body Electric”
  5. “Adrenochrome”
  6. “Anaconda”


Temple of Love (12”)

Side One

  1. “Temple Of Love” – Touched by the Hands of Ofra Haza


Side Two

  1. “Vision Thing” – Canadian Club Remix


Under The Gun (12”)

Side One

  1. “Under The Gun” – Metropolis Mix


Side Two

  1. “Alice” – 1993 Version
  2. “Under The Gun” – Jutland Mix


Previous articleMIF: True Faith (Manchester Art Gallery) with talk by curator Matthew Higgs and Grant Gee’s Joy Division (Home) with talk by director Grant Gee and writer Jon Savage
Next articleRotten UK: That Is Not Dead… – album review


  1. Some Girls Wander By Mistake, Into The Mess That Scalpels Make: httpss://


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here