Shortlist For Welsh Music Prize 2013-2014 AnnouncedOn Tuesday the shortlist for this year’s Welsh Music Prize 2013-2014 was been announced by the renowned prize’s organisers. Check out the list below.

The Welsh Music Prize was created in 2011 by BBC Radio 1 DJ Huw Stephens and music promoter John Rostron, with whom he founded Cardiff’s NME award-winning Sŵn Festival.

With a commitment to diversity and fine production, the Welsh Music Prize champions the best original music from Wales.

The shortlisted albums this year are listed below:

  • 9 Bach – Tincian
  • Cate Le Bon – Mug Museum
  • Euros Childs – Situation Comedy
  • Future of the Left – How To Stop Your Brain In An Accident
  • Gruff Rhys – American Interior
  • Gulp – Season Sun
  • Joanna Gruesome – Weird Sister
  • Manic Street Preachers – Futurology
  • Samoans – Rescue
  • Slowly Rolling Camera – Slowly Rolling Camera
  • The Gentle Good – Y Bardd Anfarwol
  • The People The Poet – The Narrator

John Rostron said:

“It’s really exciting to be announcing this shortlist and to see a few established names up against some newcomers. There’s so much great music being released from Wales and it’s a delight that the Welsh Music Prize helps highlight twelve of these albums. I hope that people will go out and buy the whole bundle for their music loving friends this Christmas and discover some new favourites, as I have through the past year of listening to so many of these records”.

Huw Stephens added:

“It’s been another great year for Welsh albums and the WMP shortlist shows that. The online panel came up with this list and there are a lot of great albums that didn’t make it. But the albums here are all brilliant and we encourage people to listen to them. We’re proud of the reaction to the Welsh Music Prize since we started it three years ago; it’s simply about recognising talent and the work that goes in to making these albums. Good luck to all the nominees, and thanks for the great albums you’ve released!”

The Welsh Music Prize 2013-2014 ceremony will be held on Friday 28th November 2014. The panel who will decide on the winner includes Helen Weatherhead (BBC 6Music); Sian Rowe (XL Recordings); Folu Babatola (Red Bull); Owain Schiavone (Y Selar); Teleri Glyn Jones (Juxtaposed); Laura Snapes (NME); Ben Lovett (Mumford & Sons / Communion); David Wrench (Producer) and James Watts (Xenomania).

Other previous winners include Future of the Left for The Plot Against Common Sense (2011-2012) and Gruff Rhys for Hotel Shampoo (2010-2011).

Previous articleMerchandise: After The End – album review
Next articleAmy Winehouse: The Mighty Atom – a retrospective!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here