East London DIY musos Shopping, whose debut album not only featured in our albums of the year list but also got shortlisted for Mercury Music Prize alternative the Dead Albatross prize (and for my money might have won it too if Good Throb hadn’t split the judges “ballsy, angular post punk band” vote), have just announced that they have a new album due out on 2nd October through the mighty Fat Cat. Check out a cut off it above and find more info about it – including a quiet from the band – below.

Titled WHY CHOOSE, the album is the band’s debut for FatCat and, according to the press release and suggested by the track above it “…retains the urgency, bite and the bristling, shard-syncopated rhythm-hooks of its predecessor, expanding their palette with the addition of synths on several tracks and seeing vocal duties switched between members.”

About the album the band says…

“We wanted WHY CHOOSE to have the same feel as our first album but with an even sharper edge. Our main focus was still to have fun and write some songs that would get people dancing but there is also a darker undertone to this record – mostly we are singing about rejection, frustration, fighting, fleeting relationships, wasting time and losing money but there is also a kind of wildness and fun – a liberated freak out of a shopping spree that we really hope people can identify with.”

Live Dates:

  • 11th July – Dalston Music Festival, London
  • 11th July – The Montague Arms, London
  • 24th July – Sheffield City Centre
  • 25th July – Deer Shed Festival, Topcliffe
  • 26th July – Tramlines, Sheffield
  • 1st September – Village Underground, London w/ Ought
  • 2nd September – Deaf Institute, Manchester w/ Ought
  • 3rd September – Hare and Hounds, Birmingham w/ Ought
  • 24th September – Fiddler’s Club, Bristol w/ ESG, Golden Teacher
  • 26th September – Oval Space, London w/ ESG, Golden Teacher
  • 16th October – Music Hall of Williamsburg, New York

Full info & US tour dates at: https://www.facebook.com/weareshopping

WHY CHOOSE Tracklisting…

  • 1. Wind Up
  • 2. Take It Outside
  • 3. Straight Lines
  • 4. Time Wasted
  • 5. Say It Once
  • 6. Passing Through
  • 7. Why Wait
  • 8. Private Party
  • 9. Sinking Feeling
  • 10. I Have Decided
  • 11. Knocking
  • 12. 12345

Shopping can be found on Facebook as well as Soundcloud and twitter, as @SH0PP1NG.


Previous articleGreece : Bloody Swanky Lazy Communists : daily report from our man in Athens
Next articleThe Venus Lyx: The Venus Lyx – EP review
Guy is a former full time member of the Louder Than War editorial team, who's since moved on to pastures new. Music's been a large part of his life since he first stumbled across Peel on his tranny as a fifteen year old. His whole approach to music was learnt from Peel in fact, which includes having as inclusive a taste in music as possible. Guy devotes most of his time looking for new music & although he's been known to say "the only good music is new music" he pretty much accepts this is bollocks. Favourite band The Minutemen.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here