Sauna Youth Distractions

Sauna Youth DistractionsSauna Youth – Distractions (Upset The Rhythm)

LP | CD | DL

Out: June 8th 2015


The long awaited follow up to the incredible Dreamlands is finally here, Distractions is a phenomenal record filled with power and ferocity, I can’t contain my excitement!

Having been completely besotted by their debut LP, I’m so pleased that Sauna Youth are back with their sophomore LP titled Distractions on Upset The Rhythm. Their first album Dreamlands was dominated by the incredibly epic track Town Called Distraction, this time there’s a little less domination just a plethora of great tracks. However, it opens with a rather eerie loop yet they’re quick to break into the frenetic Transmitters, which is a jaunty guitar driven track to kick off proceedings.

They continue with this furious pace as Monotony burst through the speakers with its aptly monotonous tone, this album already has the makings of an incredible record and we’ve barely scratched the surface. These short, sharp hits of intensity are filled with brilliance from their languid beginnings, Distractions already sees a much fuller and more exciting Sauna Youth breaking out.

This raucous behaviour underpins the album as Modern Living opens in a flurry of blustery guitars, masking the frantic vocals. As it moves into the equally excitable Leather, their prowess is truly beginning to show as the more familiar and expected tones of Paul ring out with the monologue style track. Yet part of me cannot wait for the madness to ensue again.

Fortunately it’s not long before they’re back into their groove as the incredible sound of The Bridge lurches out and grabs you by the throat. This album takes hints from their older work yet it all seems to be hyped up on steroids, the intensity and atmosphere is unbelievable as the guitars are rinsed within an inch of their lives Sauna Youth are giving it everything.

Try To Leave sees them slow proceedings slightly and allows the vocals take to the fore but it once again leaves me pining for the blustery excitement. That said though it’s still yet another exquisite track and with this album you’re never far away from a burst of power as Future Tense chugs into life with its driving bassline and urgent vocals.

As the album closes out into more of what I was expecting from Sauna Youth, the monologue style track softly orchestrated as the vocals are allowed to shine. Yet once again it’s very short-lived as Creeping finishes the album the reverb drenched vocals and driving guitars providing the perfect end to a short sharp shock of an album.

This album has me completely beside myself with excitement, with so many bands saturating this genre Sauna Youth provide a real breath of fresh air and at the same time hysteria. It’s taken a lot to overpower me like this, but this album is truly phenomenal!

The album can be pre-ordered here.

Sauna Youth are now on tour, taking in the following dates…

  • Friday 5 June – The Old Baths, 80 Eastway, Hackney Wick – Album Launch
  • Friday 26 June – Sheffield – Audacious Space
  • Saturday 27 June – Grimsby – The Matrix
  • Sunday 28 June – Cardiff – The Undertone
  • Thursday 2 July – York – The Fulford Arms
  • Friday 3 July – Leeds – Wharf Chambers with VEXX
  • Saturday 4 July – Glasgow –  Old Hairdresser’s with VEXX
  • Sunday 5 July – Manchester – Gullivers with VEXX (afternoon show)

Sauna Youth can be found online here They’re are also on Facebook.

All words by Lee Hammond. You can check out more work by Lee at his Louder Than War author’s archive, he also tweets as @NapZap.

Previous articleManic Street Preachers: Wolverhampton Civic Hall – live review
Next articleInterview: No Hot Ashes – rehearsing their second single in Stockport


  1. The first time I heard Monotony I was moved to respond, do do do do do in the the style of the Muppets Mah Nah Mah Nah. This has either ruined or made the song for me. I can’t decide. I shall pop along and do it live really loudly as an acid test.

  2. I have to be honest I wasn’t that fussed by monotony (the song or the “band”) but this lot (the same lineup I know) is a different beast altogether. Great record.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here