Post-Punk legends ‘The Pop Group’ announce first ever UK tour and new releases..Post-Punk legends The Pop Group announce first ever UK tour and new releases…

The Pop Group, the most wildly innovative and barrier-shattering band to emerge from the late 70s post-punk era, have announced their first ever UK tour in October to coincide with the first run of re-issues on the new Freaks Are Us label.

Since their reunion in 2010 the band have played a handful of key festivals around the world including a rapturously received show in Glasgow earlier this year. The Guardian exclaimed in their 5 star review that…

“…the years have divested this band’s music of none of its urgent potency” while The Times stated “Cited as a key influence by Nick Cave and Primal Scream these wilfully discordant Bristolians unleash an exhilarating mash up of polemical lyrics, funk rhythms, free jazz and dub reggae with a tightness and ferocity that would challenge bands half their age.”

Spearheading the first wave of reissues the band will release two albums, a re-issue of their 1980 post-punk classic ‘We Are Time’ remastered from original tapes and ‘Cabinet of Curiosities’, a
nine-track compilation of rarities and previously unreleased and unheard material. Both albums are set for release on 20th October.

The Pop Group will be performing ‘We Are Time’ in its entirety plus more…

The seven date UK tour is in support of ‘Campaign Against Arms Trade’.

“In this age of hidden agendas / proxies and false flag attacks, now more than ever we must campaign against the arms trade THE MOST BRUTAL TRADE” Mark Stewart

Tickets will go on sale Friday 25th July at all ticket outlets or from the band’s website which is here:


Live Dates:

  • 20-Oct- Edinburgh Voodoo Rooms
  • 21-Oct – Nottingham Bodega Social Club
  • 22-Oct – Manchester Gorilla
  • 23-Oct – Bristol Anson Rooms
  • 24-Oct – Leeds Brudenell Social Club
  • 25-Oct – Brighton Sticky Mike’s Frog Bar
  • 26-Oct – London Islington Assembly Hall
Previous articleRicardo Lemvo & Makina Loca: La Rumba SoYo – album review
Next articleLa Roux: Trouble In Paradise – album review


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here