Pipes And Pints ‘Found And Lost’ – album review

Pipes And Pints ‘Found And Lost’ (People Like You Records)
Released 5th November 2012

Second album from the Prague based Pipes And Pints, the follow up to 2009’€™s €˜Until We Die – for those of you as yet unaware Pipes And Pints were formed in 2006 by Vojta Kalina (Highland Bagpipes/Vocals) with a dream of creating a band that combined punk rock with dirty folk music. The current line-up features Lukas Vincour (Drums/Vocals, ex-Punkhart), Syco Mike (Lead Vocals, ex- Mugshot 76), and Ondra Balvin (Bass/Vocals, Super Pilot, ex-ElPaso)

On the face of it, this cross border approach shouldn’€™t work – we have a Prague based band that includes two city natives, an Austrian, and a Californian ex-pat, who play Celtic punk which they then release via a German label. Whilst the individual components might not look to work, combine them together as Pipes And Pints and you get a full-on no holds barred blast of primarily punk rock that is polished with the addition of complimenting …err pipes!

‘€˜She‒s The One’€™ opens proceedings with a haunting pipe refrain, before thundering drums pin you to the floor, Syco Mike’€™ throaty roar rallying his troops in the battle cry chorus – the rabble rousing continues with both ‘€˜Calling Me’€™ and ‘€˜Never Let You Down’ each are high octane red-blooded bursts that will explode any mosh-pit into a seething cauldron of testosterone.

Whilst Pipes And Pints are never going to garner much debate from chin stroking muso’s the band clearly do understand the craft of song-writing, Celtic punk is oft criticised for being gimmicky – throw in a penny whistle for good measure; Pipes And Pints build their songs around the component instruments, each has its place – there is no need to over egg the pudding, so on the anthemic ‘One Connection’€™ the pipes provide subtle colour to rises and falls as opposed to dominating.


Lyrically we are on familiar ground, thankfully all the songs are sung in English – songs of camaraderie, community and the constant struggle against oppression and injustice, all delivered in typical hell raising fashion; the sound is more akin to Rancid and The Rabble than either Flogging Molly or The Dropkick Murphys and benefits greatly for it – Pipes And Pints are clearly intent in forging their own path and songs like ‘Fear Is Just A Feeling’ and the magnificently brooding ‘Runaway’ show us the way they are going.

‘Found And Lost’€™ exudes energy and goes some way to reclaim the Celtic punk genre from the all too dominant US based stronghold – Pipes And Pints along with the UK’s Roughneck Riot may well be the band to instill some real energy into the European punk scene

Track List:

1. She’s The One
2. Calling Me
3. Never Let You Down
4. One Connection
5. Right Or Wrong
6. Found And Lost
7. Her Life And Thoughts
8. Blackhearted Doubts
9. Fear Is Just A Feeling
10. Runaway
11. Warpath 82

Pipes And Pints are currently touring both the Czech Republic and Germany and have a rather special gig lined up at Berlin’s infamous Wild At Heart on the 20th December, UK dates are scheduled for 2013.

Previous articleThe Whatevers: Lo-Fi Infidelity – The Best of The Whatevers: album review
Next articleMid 80’s Half Man Half Biscuit song told the truth about Jimmy Savile
Phil Newall is 47, from The Wirral - he earns his living not writing about music nor playing music...though sorely wishes he could. He was fortunate enough to see many of the first generation punk bands when they played the U18's matinee shows at Eric's, Liverpool. As an attendee at Eric's he was exposed to punk rock, dub reggae, art rock, and all manner of weirdness; as a customer at Probe Records he was variously served and scowled at by Pete Wylie and Pete Burns - he has written for Record Collector, Whisperin & Hollerin, and Spiral Scratch and wanted to write a book detailing the Liverpool punk scene; however with 'Head-On' Julian Cope beat him to it...and frankly did a much better job.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here