Pioneering Sound Explorer Dead Fader Announces New Album – Check Out The First Track Off It Now!

Dead Fader – whose last album, Blood Forest / Scorched, made it into our 2014 albums of the year list – has just announced the release of a new LP. It’s titled Glass Underworld and you can stream the first track off it, Mud Underworld, above. If you so chose. Which we obviously recommend you do. Asap.

Glass Underworld will be released via the ever-reliable Robot Elephant Records on 23rd October 2015. The same label also released a free EP by the same artist only last month too, which you can go grab here, kids, if you haven’t got it already.

Dead Fader’s tracks are characterised by exciting explorations into the world of noise and electronica. Never fitting into any of the common genres of electronica, John Cohen’s music is a cacophony of adventurous soundscapes which, put simply, are something a bit different. The impact his music can have on people is never better demonstrated than when you catch him live, something we encourage you to do at as many of the dates below as you possibly can!

The press release informs us that…

“The album became a very personal exploration for Cohen, as the themes are inquiring emotional states, and the writing process was predominantly influenced by falling in love whilst making the album.”

Meanwhile, his former not-really-rhythm-oh-OK-maybe-a-bit-then partner in Dead Fader, Barry Pendergast, had this to say about John…

“I have watched his talent, his confidence in his ability and his output just grow and grow beyond what most humans are capable of imagining, never mind making. I think that comes from a place of wonder and exploration, a place where emotion, energy and experience are important; the long and narrow, the deaf arena, the blood forest and the glass cathedrals. Dead Fader rips you backwards through the portal as existence explodes around you, but you don’t perish in the fire. It’s just a ride.”

Amen to dat.


  • A1. Boom Town
  • A2. Glass Cathedral
  • A3. Mud Underworld
  • A4. Nine Strokes
  • B1. Penchant
  • B2. Not One
  • B3. Thunderstorm
  • B4. Too Busy

Berlin date:

26/09 – Urban Spree

UK tour dates with Necro Deathmort (who some of us of the Louder Than War parish also adore):

  • 29/09  PLymouth (Underground)
  • 30/09  Nottingham  (The Chameleon)
  • 01/10  Manchester (Islington Mill)
  • 02/10  Newcastle (Venue Tba)
  • 03/10  Shipley (Kirkgate Centre)
  • 05/10  London (Corsica Studios)

You can find Dead Fader on Soundcloud, Facebook and twitter, as  @deadfader.

Cover art…

Dead Fader - Glass Underworld - Artwork


All words Guy Manchester. More writing by Guy on Louder Than War can be read at his author’s archive. He tweets as @guid0man.

The Author

Words by

Share and comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get Your Tickets At Skiddle

To buy tickets for our events please visit: Skiddle.

Tickets by Skiddle