Watch This: NYHC legends MADBALL have premiered the official video for their new track ‘Born Strong’ online

US hardcore legends MADBALL have a new album out in a weeks time, Hardcore Lives, released via the mighty Nuclear Blast. By way of a taster they’ve just dropped a mind numbing video for one of the tracks off it, Born Strong, which you can, and should, watch below, especially if you’re feeling a bit sleepy in this oppressive weather.

The album is a true collaborative effort. It was tracked & engineered by famed Unearth guitarist Ken Susi and mixed & mastered by long time collaborator Zeuss (Hatebreed, Agnostic Front, Soulfly, Terror, Whitechapel…). Meanwhile, official promo photos were taken by Lamb Of God’s very own Randall D. Blythe.

Iconic frontman Freddy Cricien explains the album title as follows:

“I shouted ‘Hardcore Lives’ on MADBALL’s first release, Ball Of Destruction – I was twelve then. It wasn’t pre planned or written down… it was an ad-lib that I just threw out there and we kept it! Back then there was no choice really, not the way we were recording – two track live at Don Fury’s… NYHC style! I feel the sentiment behind the expression still holds true today, maybe even more so. Hence the reason we finally chose to use it as a title. Sure, it’s about waving the flag for our genre/culture, etc. – I’ve always felt that “we as a scene” had to scream just a lil louder… to be heard! That said, Hardcore Lives at least to us, is not just about a cool ‘catchphrase’ – it’s about that rebellious spirit that doesn’t give in…in life, music, whatever. It’s about growing, evolving, and maintaining your integrity in the process. It’s about family, overcoming adversity, and respect. All the things that matter inside and outside of the music realm. It’s for everyone and anyone with an open mind and heart.”

Hardcore Lives will be available as limited edition digipak and on vinyl, both including two additional bonus tracks: ‘The Beast’ which also appeared on 2012’s EP Rebellion and ‘Spit On Your Grave’ from 1994’s landmark release Set It Off – both tracks have been exclusively re-recorded for the inclusion on Hardcore Lives. Pre-order it here.


Hardcore Lives track list:

  • 01. Intro
  • 02. Hardcore Lives
  • 03. The Balance
  • 04. Doc Marten Stomp
  • 05. DNA
  • 06. True School feat. Scott Vogel / TERROR
  • 07. The Here And Now
  • 08. Nothing To Me
  • 09. My Armor feat. Toby Morse / H20
  • 10. Beacon Of Light
  • 11. Born Strong feat. Candace Puopolo / WALLS OF JERICHO
  • 12. Spirit
  • 13. Mi Palabra
  • 14. NBNC
  • 15. For The Judged

Bonus Tracks:

  • 16. The Beast
  • 17. Spit On Your Grave 2014

MADBALL are on Facebook and they tweet as @madballNYC.

Previous articleColin Blaney releases new football and crime book The Undesirables – photos from the launch event
Next articletop 10 bite songs for for Luis Suarez
Guy is a former full time member of the Louder Than War editorial team, who's since moved on to pastures new. Music's been a large part of his life since he first stumbled across Peel on his tranny as a fifteen year old. His whole approach to music was learnt from Peel in fact, which includes having as inclusive a taste in music as possible. Guy devotes most of his time looking for new music & although he's been known to say "the only good music is new music" he pretty much accepts this is bollocks. Favourite band The Minutemen.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here