Noise Rock Legends Lightning Bolt Sign To Thrill Jockey; New Album Due In March

This is great news – one of our favourite noise rock outfits are hooking up with one of our favourite labels to produce what we can only assume will be one of our favourite albums of 2015. Lightning Bolt + Thrill Jockey = unfettered excitement at Louder Than War towers. Full details below.

The low down:

“Fantasy Empire, Lightning Bolt’s sixth album and first in five years, is a fresh take from a band intent on pushing themselves musically and sonically while maintaining the aesthetic that has defined not only them, but an entire generation of noise-makers. It marks many firsts, most notably their first recordings made using proper hi-fi recording equipment at the famed Machines With Magnets (Battles, The Body, Marissa Nadler, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah), and their first album for Thrill Jockey Records.”

Some more low down:

Fantasy Empire will be released on 23rd March and will be available on 2xLP, CD and DL.

Why we’re excited:

Over the course of its two-decade existence, Lightning Bolt (drummer Brian Chippendale and bassist Brian Gibson) has revolutionised underground rock in immeasurable ways. The duo broke the barrier between stage and audience by setting themselves up on the floor in the midst of the crowd. Their momentous live performances and the mania they inspired paved the way for similar tactics used by Dan Deacon and literally hundreds of others. Similarly, the band’s recordings have always been chaotic, roaring, blown out documents that sound like they could destroy even the toughest set of speakers.

What they’ve been up to since their last full album, Earthy Delights, was released back in 2009:

The band has collaborated with the Flaming Lips multiple times, and continued to tour relentlessly. 2013 saw the release of All My Relations by Black Pus, Chippendale’s solo outlet, which was followed by a split LP with Oozing Wound, and duo record with Deerhoof’s Greg Saunier in 2014.

The bonus news tidbit for reading this far:

Lightning Bolt will be touring Europe in 2015!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The inevitble conclusion:

“Damn, it’s good to have them back…”

The Artwork:

Noise Rock Legends Lightning Bolt Sign To Thrill Jockey; New Album Due In March

The tracklist:

  • 1. The Metal East
  • 2. Over The River And Through The Woods
  • 3. Horsepower
  • 4. King Of My World
  • 5. Mythmaster
  • 6. Runaway Train
  • 7. Leave The Lantern Lit
  • 8. Dream Genie
  • 9. Snow White (& The 7 Dwarves Fans)

Lightning Bolt are on: Facebook and they have an Official Site: Brian Chippendale is on: Twitter as @CHIRPENDALE.

Previous articleWatch This! New Video By Mamuthones, The Lead Track From New Album With Evil Blizzard
Next articleBlossoms Set To Embark On Extensive UK Tour Beginning At The Hebden Bridge Trades Club
Guy is a former full time member of the Louder Than War editorial team, who's since moved on to pastures new. Music's been a large part of his life since he first stumbled across Peel on his tranny as a fifteen year old. His whole approach to music was learnt from Peel in fact, which includes having as inclusive a taste in music as possible. Guy devotes most of his time looking for new music & although he's been known to say "the only good music is new music" he pretty much accepts this is bollocks. Favourite band The Minutemen.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here