Noel Gallagher Announces Details Of New High Flying Birds Album ‘Chasing Yesterday’ Plus World Tour

Noel Gallagher announces details of new High Flying Birds album ‘Chasing Yesterday’ and a world tour.

Gallagher confirmed that the album, ‘Chasing Yesterday’, will be out 2nd March 2015 on Sour Mash Records, during a live Facebook Q&A with Radio 6 Music presenter Matt Everitt.

The first single from the album, ‘In The Heat Of The Moment’ is released on November 17th digitally and on limited edition 7 inch vinyl with B side entitled ‘Do The Damage’.

Fans were given the chance to ask the former Oasis songwriter any burning questions, in which Gallagher said “I’ve got stuff coming out, tours and records”. The Oasis star is also set to unveil a new single later today.

This follows reports of rumours that Gallagher is set to appear on Channel 4’s ‘Celebrity Gogglebox’, on which Gallagher’s team refused to comment on.

To read the full Q&A head over to

Tickets for the following shows go on sale Friday

UK & Ireland Tour Dates

  • Tues 3rd March Odyssey Arena, Belfast
  • Weds 4th March 3 Arena, Dublin
  • Fri 6th March Capital FM Arena, Nottingham
  • Sat 7th March The SSE Hydro, Glasgow
  • Mon 9th March Arena, Manchester
  • Tues 10th March O2 Arena, London

Chasing Yesterday’ marks a new chapter and sound for Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds.   It’s the first album to be produced as well as written by Noel and features a much broader array of instrumentation than ever before; the result is a rich, expansive and multi-layered record, drawing from a range of disparate influences – from west coast rock to classic rock’n’roll and even some space jazz (!) – whilst still being very obviously a completely cohesive body of work.  On producing the album, Noel said:

“It was a major pain in the arse. It’s not that I’ve ever had people telling me what to write or what direction to go in, but managing sessions from one end of the week to the other proved extremely difficult. I had all these people looking at me and saying: ‘right, what are we doing today?’ I was making the whole thing up as I went along.”

The beautiful opening track  ‘Riverman’ is an expansive song with several guitar and saxophone solos.  Noel said of the track: 

“We made a demo of Riverman and we knew it was amazing,” “And then I was listening to [sax-laden one-hit wonder from 1974] Pinball by Brian Protheroe and thought: Shall I actually get a saxophone player? And what if I get him to play not one but two solos? I know I’m going to be accused of sax crimes. But fuck it. There’s nobody to tell me not to do it. And when you listen to that saxophone, please, don’t think about the guy from Spandau Ballet.”

The record’s emotional closer, ‘Ballad Of The Mighty I’ sees Johnny Marr join with Noel on guitar duties. 

“I tried to get him to play on the last album but it never happened,” said Gallagher. “So when I put this track together and knew he would be perfect for it I called him and asked if I could send him the rough mix. He said: ‘No, I don’t want to hear it. I’m just going to react to it on the day.’ He didn’t even want any pointers. Well, that was brave of him. He just arrived with two guitars and a bag of effects pedals. And I have to say, he’s unbelievable. He’s way up there, on another level to the rest of us. The result is a burst of energy that helped make Mighty I one of the best songs I’ve ever written.”

Album track listing is below:

  • 1. Riverman
  • 2. In The Heat Of The Moment
  • 3. The Girl With X-Ray Eyes
  • 4. Lock All The Doors
  • 5. The Dying Of The Light
  • 6. The Right Stuff
  • 7. While The Song Remains The Same
  • 8. The Mexican
  • 9. You Know We Can’t Go Back
  • 10. Ballad Of The Mighty I

Visit for more news and details of upcoming tour dates.

Previous articleBrian Jonestown Massacre Announce New EP – Stream Lead Track Now
Next articleRash Decision: Seaside Resort To Violence – album review


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here