Spiritualized return after four years with the follow up to the sublime And Nothing Hurt. Not content with the Spaceman Program reissues, J. Spaceman has been busy cooking up another brew of shimmering space rock gospel to be let loose in a venue near you. It’s a religious experience. Read on…

Following this year’s acclaimed reissue of their classic first four albums, Spiritualized announce news of their new studio album, Everything Was Beautiful, due for release 25 February 2022 via Bella Union and available to pre-order HERE. To mark the occasion the band have shared a video for lead track and album opener “Always Together With You” and announced news of an extensive international tour running from March through to May 2022, including a headline performance at London’s Roundhouse on 10 May.

While some people imploded in the lockdowns and isolation of the epidemic, others were thriving. “I felt like I’d been in training for this my whole life” says J Spaceman.

 He was referring to his fondness for isolation and when you reframe loneliness as “beautiful solitude” then it isn’t so bad. He would walk through an empty “Roman London” where “even the sirens had stopped singing” and where the world was “full of birdsong and strangeness and no contrails.” He used the birdsong walks to listen and try and make sense of all the music playing in his head. The mixes of his new record, a ninth studio album, weren’t working out yet.

Spaceman plays 16 different instruments on Everything Was Beautiful which was put down at 11 different studios, as well as at his home. He also employed more than 30 musicians and singers including his daughter Poppy, long-time collaborator and friend John Coxon, string and brass sections, choirs and finger bells and chimes from the Whitechapel Bell Foundry. So there’s a lot going on.

“There was so much information on it that the slightest move would unbalance it but going around in circles is important to me. Not like you’re spiralling out of control but you’re going around and around and on each revolution, you hold onto the good each time. Sure, you get mistakes as well, but you hold on to some of those too and that’s how you kind of… achieve. Well, you get there.”

Eventually the mixes got there, and Everything Was Beautiful was achieved. The result is some of the most “live” sounding recordings that Spiritualized have released since the Live At The Albert Hall record of 1998, around the time of Ladies & Gentlemen, We Are Floating In Space.

The opening track “Always Together With You” is a reworking / supercharging of a track originally released in demo quality in 2014. This new version is a perfect Spiritualized song

The artwork is designed once again with Mark Farrow. If you buy the vinyl you can pop a pill box out of the sleeve, revealing gold foil underneath, and assemble the Braille-embossed little thing and put it somewhere in the house. The box set has 8 of them. Literally a boxset. It looks more beautiful in the flesh. “Farrow and I were talking about what we should do and we just said, ‘It’s called Everything Is Beautiful, how could you not have a pill?’”

All these layers, all these details, the year-long mixes, the making sense of it all and the lives lived within these lyrics; for somebody so famously unconfident of his own abilities, isn’t this a punishing thing to keep doing? “Yeah, but I like what I do. There’s a line from Jonathan Meades that’s about having all the attributes to being an artist. ‘Paranoia, vanity, selfishness, egotism, sycophancy, resentment, moral nullity and more idiot than idiot savant.’ “And that’s what it feels like, this kind of thing. You’re your own worst enemy and biggest supporter. “There’s a ‘Of course this is worth it. It’s me’ and then this kind of deep doubt of ‘What the fuck is this all about?’ “And then ‘Why is it important?’ and then knowing there’s no easy answer. But it’s there. I know it’s there.”

Spiritualized’s new album “Everything Was Beautiful” is due for release 25 February 2022 via Bella Union and is available pre-order here

Spiritualized Spring 2022 Live Dates


02 Mar – Utrecht, Netherlands – TivoliVredenberg Grote Zaal tickets

03 Mar – Copenhagen, Denmark – DR Studie 2 tickets

04 Mar – Oslo, Norway – Parkteatret tickets

05 Mar – Gothenburg, Sweden – Pustervik tickets

07 Mar – Berlin, Germany – Passionskirche

08 Mar – Hamburg, German – Laeiszhalle

09 Mar – Köln, Germany – Gloria

10 Mar – Paris, France – La Gaîté Lyrique tickets

11 Mar – Brussels, Belgium – Ancienne Belgique tickets

31 Mar – Dallas, TX, Granada Theater tickets

01 Apr – Austin, TX – Scoot Inn tickets

03 Apr – Santa Fe, NM – Meow Wolf tickets

04 Apr – Denver, CO – Ogden Theatre tickets

05 Apr – Salt Lake City, UT – The Commonwealth Room tickets

07 Apr – Seattle, WA – Neptune tickets

08 Apr – Portland, OR – Revolution Hall tickets

09 Apr – Vancouver, BC – Commodore Ballroom tickets

28 Apr – Bath, UK – The Forum tickets

29 Apr – Cambridge, UK – Corn Exchange tickets

30 Apr – Brighton, UK – Dome tickets

02 May – Birmingham, UK – Symphony Hall tickets

04 May – Gateshead, UK – Sage tickets

05 May – Glasgow, UK – SWG3 Galvanizers tickets

07 May – Dublin, IE – Olympia Theatre  tickets

08 May – Manchester, UK – Bridgewater Hall tickets

09 May – Nottingham, UK – Royal Concert Hall tickets

10 May – London, UK – Roundhouse tickets

Foreword by Wayne Carey, Reviews Editor for Louder Than War. His author profile is here

Previous articleRob Young: In Conversation with Derek Walmsley – Walthamstow Trades Hall
Next articleVarious – Straight To The Head – album review
"I'm a 50 year old man, and I like it!" A music nut from North Manchester residing in Northwich. If it's good I'm on it. Most genres covered but mainly alternative post punk indie with a love for all things psych.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here