New Model Army Announce Details Of Documentary, Album, Single And Uk TourNew Model Army announce first details of the documentary feature film ”between dog and wolf: the new model army story” & publication of their own magazine with free flexidisc.

The new single “March In September” will be released on Sept 19th & is taken from their forthcoming album “Between Dog And Wolf”, due out Sept 23rd. Watch the video below.

In 1983 New Model Army issued their first single “Great Expectations”. It came with a free flexidisc and sold 1500 copies.

That song title proved prophetic as 30 years later the band are now to be the subject of their own documentary feature film and magazine, both looking back on the past and towards the future with the imminent release of their new album “Between Dog and Wolf” on September 23rd.

The film is entitled “Between Dog and Wolf: The New Model Army story”, and will be directed by Royal Television Society Award winning documentary maker Matt Reid. Matt is best known for his major TV documentary on the Royal Family “The Queen’s Castle “(2005) “Monarchy” (2007) both on BBC1 and “The Savoy” on ITV. This is his first feature film. The film has been 4 years in the making and documents the bands history, and their creative resurgence in the making of the new album. It is currently being edited for release in 2014.

The first glimpses of the film can be seen in the video for the soon to be released “March In September” which Matt Directed and includes footage from the film below.


The single itself is the first song to come from the forthcoming album “Between Dog and Wolf” The album was mixed by Joe Barresi ( Queens of the Stone Age, Soundgarden, Tool,) and heralds a bold change in sound for the band.

It’s method of release will be similarly unique. After 30 years since giving one away with Great Expectations, New Model Army will issue their second flexidisc. As there are far less record shops than in 1983 to ensure the widest possible distribution it will be mounted on the cover of their very own magazine and sold in newsagents across the UK. The magazine has been made with in conjunction with Vive Le Rock/Big Cheese publishers and features exclusive interviews, artwork and pictures from the film, from the album, and from the band’s past and will be available on September 19th.

Justin Sullivan commented on the new single and it’s availability on the magazine.

“We wanted to communicate with our audience and give them something unique and that will be something they will want to keep. The opportunity of doing our own magazine has been tremendously enjoyable and fitted in well with the new album, the release of the single, and the film finishing shooting, and will be available ahead of our European tour when we can meet the fans and hear what they think of the record and the album.”

Catch New Model Army’s UK tour – dates here:


  • 12 AberdeenGarage
  • 13 Glasgow Garage
  • 14 Leeds Acadamy
  • 15 Buckley Tivoli
  • 16 Manchester Ritz
  • 17 Bilston Robin 2
  • 19 Cambridge Junction
  • 20 Frome Cheese and Grain
  • 21 Falmouth Princess Pavilion
  • 22 Brighton Concord
  • 23 London Forum

Previous articlePhoto gallery of Stone Roses at Sonic Mania festival in Japan
Next articleRebellion Festival – Day 2; Friday 9th August 2013



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here