New Material By Gil Scott-Heron To Be Released On Record Store Day – listen to teaser track

XL Recordings are releasing a new album of Gil Scott-Heron recordings, titled ‘Nothing New’, for Record Store Day, 19th April 2014. They also released a track off it, ‘Alien (Hold On To Your Dreams), which you can stream below.

Yesterday would have been Gil Scott-Heron’s birthday, his 65th in fact, and to mark the occasion XL Recordings have announced that they’ll be releasing an album of unheard recordings by him.

The story is as follows:

During the 2008 I’m New Here sessions at New York’s Looking Glass studios, Scott-Heron recorded stripped-down new versions of some of his greatest songs. Accompanying himself on piano and with no overdubs, this is Nothing New, a unique musical insight into one of the most profound recording artists of our time.

The album will be available only on 12” vinyl, limited to 3000 copies, and released exclusively for Record Store Day on 19th April 2014.

Full tracklising below this:


Side A:

  • 1. Did You Hear What They Said
  • 2. Better Days Ahead
  • 3. Household Name (Interlude)
  • 4. Your Daddy Loves You
  • 5. Changing Yourself (Interlude)
  • 6. Pieces Of A Man
  • 7. Enjoying Yourself (Outro)

Side B:

  • 1. Alien (Hold On To Your Dreams)
  • 2. Before I Hit The Bottom (Interlude)
  • 3. 95 South (All The Places We’ve Been)
  • 4. The Other Side
  • 5. The On/Off Switch (Interlude)
  • 6. Blue Collar
  • 7. On Bobby Blue Bland (Outro)

More details here:

The Author

Words by

Share and comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get Your Tickets At Skiddle

To buy tickets for our events please visit: Skiddle.

Tickets by Skiddle