Mueran Humanos, the Argentinian but Berlin based duo made up by Carmen Burguess and Tomás Nochteff, will release their sophomore album “Miseress” on ATP Recordings on November 27, continuing their post punk, industrial inflected synth explorations first introduced on their 2011 self-titled debut album.
We released their single on Louder Than War records (order from here) a couple of years ago and wrote about them in 2011 and are thrilled to see ATP release the album.
Having created Mueran Humanos in 2006, Carmen and Tomàs embody the classic counterculture tradition of an “us against the world” couple driven to greatness through their love of each other and their passion for art, being described as “a post-industrial Lux and Ivy, a garage rock Chris and Cosey, or even a psychedelic Johnny Cash and June Carter.” 
Burguess and Nochteff share the vocal duties, all sung in their native Spanish, but with an emotiveness that transcends any language barriers, with the artwork made by Burguess carrying a voice just as distinct as their music, and the eerie, sometimes disturbing, imagery functioning as its perfect accompaniment.
Choosing to forego computer based writing, the band opt instead for stretching and perverting an instrument’s presupposed purpose. This way, the very basic line up of Mueran Humanos; bass, synths, drum machines and sampler, generates their personal sound. On Miseress, Mueran Humanos adds for the first time guitars to the formula, supplied by Einstürzende Neubauten’s Jochen Arbeit, who also acts as the only guest musician on the album.
Recorded at Burguess’ and Nochteff’s home in Berlin, and mixed in Einsturzende Neubauten’s studio andereBaustelle by engineer Boris Wilsdorf, ‘Miseress’ bounds between the foreboding and the abstract to more frenetic sounding pop to harsh, obsessive marches. Each song is treated as a separate entity, allowing the record to come together as a whole organically. Mueran Humanos encourage listeners to experience ‘Miseress’ as you might a thunderstorm: natural and inevitable, it moves seamlessly from beautiful to scary, sad to ecstatic, sliced with points of rage but also flecked with calming lulls.
ATP Recordings are now streaming the title track in full, which delves into themes of resurrection, redemption and resilience. It follows a fictional character, named Miseress (also depicted on the album cover) as she triumphs over adversity.
Listen to it here.
Track list: 
1. Miseress
2. Un Lugar Ideal
3. Mi Auto
4. El Círculo
5. Espejo en la Nada
6. El Vino de las Orgías
7. Guerrero de la Gloria Negativa
8. La Torre de la Hora
9. Epilog
Mueran Humanos are scheduled to perform at this years ATP Nightmare Before Christmas, taking place 27-29th of November. Find more info here.
Next articleJohn Lawrence: Spillers Records, Four Bars @ Dempsey’s, Cardiff – live review
Award winning journalist and boss of Louder Than War. In a 30 year music writing career, John was the first to write about bands such as Stone Roses and Nirvana and has several best selling music books to his name. He constantly tours the world with Goldblade and the Membranes playing gigs or doing spoken word and speaking at music conferences.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here