Morrissey: Full Details Of ‘Vauxhall And I’ 20th Anniversary Remaster Unveiled – it will include a previously unreleased concert  recordingOn June 2nd Parlophone Records will be releasing the 20th Anniversary Definitive Master of Morrissey’s fourth album Vauxhall And I. Full details, including that of a previously unreleased 1995 live concert have now been made available so read on to find out more.

Vauxhall and I was a UK number 1, a US Top 20 and the single ‘The More Ignore Me The Closer I Get’ was a UK Top 10 and managed to reach number 46 on Billboard. Since its original release on 14th March 1994, the album has again and again featured in ‘Best Album’ lists the world over.

This 20th Anniversary Definitive Master has been remastered by Bill Inglot. It will be available on CD, vinyl and digital download and will include unseen photos. The CD version will come with a bonus CD, featuring the previously unreleased live concert recorded at the Theatre Royal, Drury Lane, 26th February 1995. The concert includes five songs from Vauxhall And I, as well as a selection from Your Arsenal, non-album single ‘Boxers’ and a cover of Johnny Mercer and Henry Mancini’s ‘Moonriver’.

The full tracklisting is therefore thus:

Vauxhall and I:

20th Anniverary Definitive Master CD/vinyl/digital download:

  • 1. Now My Heart Is Full
  • 2. Spring-Heeled Jim
  • 3. Billy Budd
  • 4. Hold On To Your Friends
  • 5. The More You Ignore Me the Closer I Get
  • 6. Why Don’t You Find Out For Yourself
  • 7. I Am Hated For Loving
  • 8. Lifeguard Sleeping, Girl Drowning
  • 9. Used To Be A Sweet Boy
  • 10.The Lazy Sunbathers
  • 11.Speedway

Morrissey – Live At The Theatre Royal, Drury Lane, 1995
(Previously Unreleased Concert)

(Vauxhall And I – 20th Anniversary Definitive Master – CD 2 & DD 2)

  • 1. Billy Budd
  • 2. Have-A-Go Merchant
  • 3. Spring-Heeled Jim
  • 4. London
  • 5. You’re The One For Me Fatty
  • 6. Boxers
  • 7. Jack The Ripper
  • 8. We’ll Let You Know
  • 9. Whatever Happens I Love You
  • 10.Why Don’t You Find Out For Yourself
  • 11.The More You Ignore Me the Closer I Get
  • 12.National Front Disco
  • 13.Moon River
  • 14.Now My Heart Is Full

The press release in full:

Vauxhall And I is a very different album than its guitar-driven predecessor, Your Arsenal. For his fourth album, after years of frustration at the misinterpretation of his work and aesthetic, as well as the loss of some of his closet confidants, including that of Mick Ronson (Arsenal’s producer); along with his two new songwriters, Alain Whyte and Boz Boorer, Morrissey crafted a flawless album of brilliant, melodic and languid songs, exquisite arrangements and mellifluous vocals – some of the finest he has ever record.

Vauxhall And I signaled an acceptance of ageing amidst the tyranny of time, casting off the shackles of the past, with a will to embrace the future. Along the way the album visits a cast of characters, including, references to Brighton Rock – gorgeous, exhilarating album opener ‘Now My Heart Is Full’ – those whom disregard all social conventions and “take life at five times the average speed” (‘Spring-Heeled Jim’) and rejected romantics (‘Billy Budd’ – also a Herman Melville character). It also lays waste to ignorant and selfish tourist whom are “jaded by stagnation” (‘The Lazy Sunbathers’), the unthinking and unquestioning (‘Why Don’t You Find Out For Yourself’ – later covered by The Killers), and tackles the inevitable loss of innocence (‘Used To Be A Sweet Boy’), amongst other inimitable themes.

The album’s first single, UK number 8, “The More You Ignore Me, The Closer I Get’, is all killer riff and features one of Morrissey’s finest lyrics, particularly the truthful and hilarious couplet; “Beware I bear more grudges/than lonely High Court judges.” Proving yet again that Morrissey was peerless with a pen and sharper than a razor when it came to slaying the establishment.

The album’s most haunted moment is the eerie, whispered ‘Lifeguard Sleeping, Girl Drowning’, a sad, yet unsentimental tale of rejection. Perhaps the most visceral moment on the whole album is closer ‘Speedway’. From the rev of an engine, the song crashes and burns through a litany of defiance and ambiguity, ending one of the greatest albums ever released on a perfect note of survival against all odds.

Previous articleOFF! and Shepard Fairey (OBEY) collab for Record Store Day – new track stream
Next articleJohnny Marr: Brudenell Social Club, Leeds – live review
Guy is a former full time member of the Louder Than War editorial team, who's since moved on to pastures new. Music's been a large part of his life since he first stumbled across Peel on his tranny as a fifteen year old. His whole approach to music was learnt from Peel in fact, which includes having as inclusive a taste in music as possible. Guy devotes most of his time looking for new music & although he's been known to say "the only good music is new music" he pretty much accepts this is bollocks. Favourite band The Minutemen.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here