moreincommon album cover

moreincommon album coverThe #moreincommon charity compilation CD has been launched to support the UK charity HOPE Not Hate in light of increased hostility toward minorities since the death of MP Jo Cox and the Brexit referendum.

The campaign #moreincommon aims to bring communities together and the album will help raise funds and awareness as well as celebrate diversity through art.

Contributing artists include: Beak>, Chris & Cosey, Datblygu, Thought Forms, The Membranes, Pulco, The Rainkings, Love & the Family Tree, Tired Arms, Mwstard, The Tramways, Graingerboy, Ela Orleans, Owlbinos of Nothfield, Climbing Trees, Anhrefn,  Ani Glass, FFUG, Feral Five, All Hail Hyena, Fran’s Word Salad, Jamie Morrison, Jupiter C, Lippy Kid, William Gray, Moon Gangs, Vinna Bee, Sheer Zed, Quiet Noise, Demento13, Frenchbloke & Soundhog, Bloodflower, Deux Furieuses, Repo Man, Radio Europa, Chick Quest, Fresh Snow, Kevin Pearce. There are more than 30 other artists also contributing tracks to the album.

Curator for the album Simon Tucker (who is also a staff writer at Louder Than War) said: “After the Referendum I was shocked to see all the vitriol that was being displayed on social media and the news. People who I respected were spouting such hateful views that it would make me really angry. I got so sick of shouting into the void and arguing on social media that I decided to contact HOPE Not Hate to see if I could get involved. They suggested I start up a branch of the charity in Carmarthen which I have done. However, I needed to do more so I had the idea of utilising the contacts and friends I have made over the years in the music industry to see if they would be up for donating songs to the album.

“I was overwhelmed by the response I got (must thank Twitter for this) and I am so excited by this album. A lot of the people involved are in my favourite bands like Beak>, Thought Forms (Invada have been great) Chris & Cosey and Datblygu so to get them involved was a great thrill.

“I also wanted to include a lot of up and coming and independent artists who many people may not know and I hope by their inclusion on the album it gives them some great exposure as they are all fantastic and deserved to be heard by as many people as possible.”

Nick Ryan of HOPE Not Hate said: “We’re delighted that Simon has brought together so many artists in support of our work. #MoreInCommon was our response to Jo Cox’s death and the divisions and disunity which emerged during the Referendum process. We’ve had a fantastic response so far, and with the support of this new album – alongside others who’ve so kindly donated their money and time to HOPE not hate – we’ll be able to continue that effort well into the future.”

The album will be released digitally and available to download from 28 October 2016 from Bandcamp.

Previous articleSlaughter and The Dogs announce new album and UK tour
Next articleAN OPEN LETTER TO SIR PAUL McCARTNEY AND RINGO STARR MBE about music venues comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here