Machine Head - Catharsis

Bay Area metal titans MACHINE HEAD will release their highly anticipated ninth studio album, Catharsis on 26 January via Nuclear Blast Entertainment.

Catharsis was produced by Robb Flynn and recorded, mixed, and co-produced by Zack Ohren (Fallujah, All Shall Perish) at Sharkbite Studios in Oakland, CA. Mastering was handled by Ted Jensen (Hatebreed, Alice In Chains, Deftones) at Sterling Sound, New York, NY.

Check out new song, Beyond The Pale here:

A full-throttle rollercoaster through every facet of MACHINE HEAD’s increasingly diverse sound, Catharsis looks certain to be one of 2018’s most notable metal records.   “This album is like a movie… a really long movie!” laughs frontman Robb Flynn.  “There are a lot of special songs on this record. I’ve never really felt like, ‘Wow, we’ve got something really special here!’ before, but this time I can feel it.  I know it.  I know some people aren’t gonna dig it and that’s always the case, so who cares?  I dig it.”

Catharsis track listing:
1. Volatile
2. Catharsis
3. Beyond The Pale
4. California Bleeding
5. Triple Beam
6. Kaleidoscope
7. Bastards
8. Hope Begets Hope
9. Screaming At The Sun
10. Behind A Mask
11. Heavy Lies The Crown
12. Psychotic
13. Grind You Down
14. Razorblade Smile
15. Eulogy

MHead Catharsisvid Oct17 Photo Albert Tatlock.jpg lores


Tracklisting for the DVD element of the special edition bonus DVD format, filmed live at The Regency Ballroom, San Francisco, CA in 2015, runs as follows;

1. Imperium
2. Beautiful Mourning
3. Now We Die
4. Bite The Bullet
5. Locust
6. From This Day
7. Ten Ton Hammer
8. This Is The End
9. Beneath The Silt
10. The Blood, The Sweat, The Tears
11. Darkness Within
12. Bulldozer
13. Killers & Kings
14. Davidian
15. Descend The Shades Of Night
16. Now I Lay Thee Down
17. Take My Scars
18. Aesthetics Of Hate
19. Game Over
20. Old
21. Halo

Machine Head recently announced the UK leg of their Catharsis World Tour for May 2018.  As per Machine Head’s modus operandi in recent years, the dates will be in an ‘Evening With…’ format, featuring 2.5-3hrs of Machine Head every night with no support bands.  Don’t expect to see Machine Head at any festivals in 2018 either.  These shows will be your only opportunity to see the band live in the UK next year.  Tickets are on sale now from

Sun 13th May – SOUTHAMPTON Guildhall
Mon 14th May – CARDIFF University
Tue 15th May – BRISTOL O2 Academy
Thu 17th May – BIRMINGHAM O2 Academy
Fri 18th May – LONDON Roundhouse
Sat 19th May – LONDON Roundhouse
Mon 21st May – NOTTINGHAM Rock City
Tue 22nd May – NEWCASTLE O2 Academy
Wed 23rd May – GLASGOW O2 Academy
Fri 25th May – MANCHESTER Academy

The band begin the North American leg of the Catharsis World Tour on 25th January 2018 in Phoenix, AZ, wrapping up in Seattle, WA on 7th March.

You can pre-order Catharsis in an array of different formats, including various coloured/picture disc vinyl and a super-collectable deluxe box set.  Check out all the options at the Nuclear Blast website

For more info on Machine Head,  point your mouse at either or


Feature by Mike Ainscoe. You can find more of Mike’s writing on Louder Than War at his author’s archive. He can be found on Facebook and his website is

Previous articleThis Is The Kit: Gorilla, Manchester-live review
Next articleMelrose Quartet: Dominion – album review
Mike has been contributing to Louder Than War since 2012, rising through the ranks from contributor to Sub Editor and now Reviews Editor. He brings his eclectic taste to the table with views on live shows (including photography) and album reviews, features and interviews from rock to metal to acoustic and folk.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here