Louder Than War’s Writers Albums Of The Year: Near MissesLast week we brought to you our editors “albums of the year” list. This week it’s the turn of our writers who, for the first year ever, have their say in our inaugural Writers Albums Of The Year list.

The top 20 will begin in earnest tomorrow, but before that here’s some of our writers favourite albums from 2013. Each and every one of these comes highly recommended with the stamp of approval from at least one of our writers.

Most of the albums below have been reviewed by us during the year at some stage so pls search the site using the box at the top right hand corner if you want more info about any of the albums listed below.

Your thoughts, as ever are welcome.


Thought Forms – Ghost Mountain

Jagwar ma – Howlin

Ed Harcourt – Back in the Woods

Woodkid  –  The Golden Age

Camera Obscura – Desire Lines

Sebadoh – Defend Yourself

Gold Blade – The Terror Of Modern Life

Elton John – The Diving Board

Stephen Steinbrink – Arranged Waves

Sweet Benifca – The Sliding Stones of Death Valley

Guy Clark – My Favorite Picture Of You

Daft Punk – Random Access Memories

Humanfly – Awesome Science

Ruts DC – Rhythm Collision Vol 2

Quasi – Mole City

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Mosquito

Fuzz – S/T

Lorna – Heart of Wire

Doldrums    – Lesser Evil

Chvrches – The Bones Of What You Believe.

Laura Mvula  –  Sing To The Moon.

Daughter – If You Leave

Cabaret Voltaire – #8385 (Collected Works 1983-1985)

Arcane Roots – Blood & Chemistry

The Bone Idles/Danger!Man – The Kaos Conspiracy  

Glasvegas – Later When the TV Turns to Static

God Damn Whores – Heya-Heya-Heya-Heya-Ho!

James Skelly & The Intenders – Love Undercover

Wave Machines – Pollen

Teeth Of The Sea – Master

The Oblivians – Desperation

California X – S/T

Sigur Ros – Kveikur

Omar – The Man

Adam Ant – Adam Ant is the Blueblack Hussar in Marrying the Gunner’s Daughter

The Courteeners – ANNA

Neon Neon – Praxis Makes Perfect

New Model Army – Between Dog and Wolf

Violent Arrest – Distorted View

Protest The Hero – Volition

Phildel – The Disappearance Of The Girl

Goldheart Assembly – Long Distance Song Effects

Kiran Leonard – Bowler Hat Soup

Luke Haines – Rock and Roll Animals

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds – Live At KCRW

Kanye West – Yeezus

Caitlin Rose – The Stand In

Pulco – 15 Pulco Songs Covered By Various Artists

Emperor X – 19 Live Recordings

James Blake – Overgrown

Melt Yourself Down – S/T

Parquet Courts – Light Up Gold

Magic Arm – Images Rolling

Neils Children – Dimly Lit

Anna Calvi – One Breath

Pond – Hobo Rocket

Nils Frahm – Spaces

Daniel Avery – Drone Logic

Nadine Shah – Love your dum and mad

Janelle Monae – Electric Lady

New Order – Lost Sirens

Fuck Buttons – Slow Focus

Marc Bolan At The BBC

How to Destroy Angels – Welcome oblivion

The Restarts – A Sickness of the Mind

Cults – Static

Michael Monroe – Horns And Halos

Oneohtrix Point Never – R Plus Seven

The Pastels – Slow Summits

Nine Inch Nails – Hesitation Marks

No Joy – Wait To Pleasure

Time Hecker – Virgins

Hey! Hello! –  Hey! Hello!

The Cribs – Payola

Black Rebel Motorcycle Club – Specter at the Feast

Radical Dance Faction – Ammunition

The Dillinger Escape Plan – One Of Us Is The Killer

Depeche Mode – Delta Machine

Cut Copy – Free Your Mind

John Grant – Pale Green Ghosts

Scott and Charlene’s Wedding – Any Port in a Storm

Pantha du Prince & the Bell Laboratory – Elements In Light

Big Sexy Noise – Collision Course

Carcass – Surgical Steel

Iceage – You’re Nothing

Atoms For Peace – Amok

Earl Sweatshirt – Doris

John Vanderslice – Dagger Beach

Euros Childs – Situation Comedy

Steve Earle and the Dukes and Duchesses – The Low Highway

Fat White Family – Champagne Holocaust

Clutch – Earth Rocker

Pussy Cat & The Dirty Johnsons – Dirty Rock ‘n’ Roll

Rotifer – The Cavalry Never Showed Up

Veronica Falls – Waiting For Something To Happen

Burial – Rival Dealer

Chapel Club – Good Together

Wire – Change becomes us

 Dirtmusic – Troubles

Pere Ubu – Lady From Shanghai

Jonny Cola And The A Grades – Spitfire

Jimi Hendrix – People Hell & Angels

Beady Eye – BE

Public Service Broadcasting – Inform Educate Entertain

Primal Scream – More Light

On an On – Give In

Eleanor Friedberger – Personal Record

Deerhunter – Monomania

Theme Tune Boy – Return Of The Living Dead

Merchandise – Totale Nite

Peace – In Love

M O N E Y – Shadow of Heaven

Unknown Mortal Orchestra – II

De Staat – I_Con

Toy – Join The Dots

Moderat – ii

Girls Names – The New Life

Haiku Salut – Tricolore

Six by Seven – Love and peace and sympathy

Dead Flowers – Midnight At The Wheel Club.

letlive. – The Blackest Beautiful

Steve Ignorant & Paranoid Visions – When?

UK Decay – New Hope for the Dead

Eureka Machines – Remain In Hope

Franz Ferdinand – Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action

Everything Everything – Arc

Steve Cradock – Travel Wild, Travel Free

Still Corners – Strange Pleasures

Jon Hopkins – Immunity

65daysofstatic – Wild Light

Joanna Gruesome – Weird Sister

Factory Floor  –  S/T

The Strypes – Snapshot

Mazzy Star – Seasons Of Your Day

Maps – Vicissitude 

John Vanderslice – John Vanderslice Plays Diamond Dogs

Billie Joe Armstrong and Norah Jones – Long Time Gone

Johnny Marr – The Messenger

Richard Thompson – Electric

Alcohol Licks – Life Is Sweet

Robyn Hitchcock – Love From London

Congo Natty – Jungle Revolution

White Fence – Cyclops Reap

The Secret Colours – Peach

Antlered Man  –  The Devil Is Them

Datblygu – Y Tapiay Cynnar/The Early Tapes

Paul Haig – Kube.

Snippet – D.I.Y.

The Quireboys – Beautiful Curse

Paul McCartney – NEW

PINS – Girls Like Us

Surf City – We Knew It Was Not Going To Be Like This

Big Deal – June Gloom

The Fall – Re-Mit

That Fucking Tank – Document Of The Last Set

Out Cold – Invasion Of Love

Motorhead – Aftershock

The Jeffrey Lewis 8 Pete Stampfel Band – Hey Hey It’s…

Biffy Clyro – Opposites

Martin Stephenson & The Daintess – California Star

Kings of Leon – Mechanical Bull

Four Tet – Beautiful Rewind

Irok – Intergalactic Republic of Kongo

Alright the Captain – Conversation Skills for the Socially Nervous

Esben and The Witch – Wash The Sins Not Only The Face

CTMF – All Our Forts are with You

Anathema – Universal

The Knife – Shaking The Habitual

Ezra Furman – My Zer0 – 2 (single)

Seazoo – Uncle Ken EP

Vampire Weekend – Modern Vampires of the City

White Lies – Big TV

The Fallen Leaves – If Only We’d Known

Concrete Knives – Be Your Own King

Crystal Stilts – Nature Noir

Beat Mark – Howls of Joy

The Haxan Cloak – Excavation

Blancmange – Happy Families Too

The Bronx – The Bronx (IV)

Dregen – S/T

Babyshambles – Sequel To The Prequel

Feathers – If All Now Here

Petrels – Onkado

Yamantaka/Sonic Titan – Uzu

Chelsea Light Moving – S/T

Dutch Uncles – Out Of Touch In The Wild

Miles Kane – Don’t Forget Who You Are

Ginger Wildheart’s Mutation Project – The Frankenstein Effect’

Billy Bragg – Tooth and Nail

The Varukers – 1984-2000

Jamie Lenman – Muscle Memory

Dan Friel – Total Folklore


Find the next section of this list, albums 20 – 11, here.

The work in compiling this list was done by Simon Tucker who you can find on Twitter as @simontucker1979.

Previous articleLouder Than War Interview: Nadine Shah
Next articleWatch This! Great New Video From Leeds Punk Crew Kleine Schweine


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here