April is set to be a celebration of Nick Drake’s music with a live cd and concert to celebrate his legacy as well as a remastered reissue for second album Bryter Layter.

Joe Boyd will present Way to Blue – The Legacy of Nick Drake concert, which will be held at Wilton’s Music Hall in London on 2 April. The concert will feature performances from Robyn Hitchcock, Green Gartside, Neill MacColl, Kate St John and special guests Paul Smith (from Maximo Park) and Olivia Chaney.

Tickets for the concert are £17.50 and available through WeGotTickets here.

Way to Blue celebrates the continuing resonance of Nick Drake’s music with tracks by Teddy Thompson, Vashti Bunyan, Green Gartside, Robyn Hitchcock, Lisa Hannigan, Scott Matthews, Krystle Warren, Danny Thompson and more.

It was recorded live in London and Melbourne by Drake’s original producer Joe Boyd who felt the best way to avoid the pitfalls of the typical tribute album would be to have everyone together for a week in a rural studio, backing each other with harmonies and guitar parts, creating an organic whole of an album.

The Way to Blue live CD is set for release on 15 April through Navigator Records.

And continuing with the ReDISCovered series a remastered version of Drake’s second album Bryter Layter, originally released in 1970, will be reissued as a boxed vinyl set.

The album itself is a near replica of the original 1970 release, pressed on heavyweight audiophile vinyl, and remastered at Abbey Road from master tapes by original engineer John Wood.  Although the first generation master tapes were found to be unusable, Wood had made a safety copy and it is from this that the new album has been struck.

The vinyl comes in an Island card inner bag in a single pocket textured sleeve, just as the original release would have done. In addition it is housed in a box containing a copy of the original shop poster, a smaller ‘Live’ poster/brochure and a reprint of Nick’s handwritten set list together with reproductions of the master tape reel and tape box lids.

The album comes with a selection of downloadable electronic formats, including either high-resolution files, the usual MP3 files or unique Dubbed-From-Disc files for that authentic play-back experience.

First released in November 1970, Bryter Layter expands on themes introduced by Drake in his debut album Five Leaves Left (1969). Principally featuring Nick on vocals and guitar performing his own original material, and using the same production team of Joe Boyd, John Wood, and orchestrator Robert Kirby Bryter Layter is unusual in that it contains three instrumentals composed by Nick.


Musicians on the album include members of Fairport Convention, The Beach Boys and John Cale. Fresh from producing former Velvet Underground bandmate Nico, Cale played on and arranged two songs including Northern Sky – the song described by the NME in 2004 as “the greatest English love song of modern times”.

Though Bryter Layter met with an indifferent set of media reviews when it was released, it went on to be included in the Rolling Stone top 500 albums of all time and reached 23 in Q magazine’s 100 Greatest British Albums Ever chart.

Bryter Layter will be reissued on 29 April on Universal Music Catalogue.

Previous articleTwitter plans to launch music discovery service
Next articleKelley Deal (ex Breeders) has a new duo R. Ring..top 10 albums


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here