Julian Cope releases ‘St Julian deluxe edition’The great Julian Cope is to release a box set collection of his third album . ‘St Julian’ in February.
Saint Julian was the first album recorded by Julian Cope for Island Records,
following his two albums on the Mercury label.

Encouraged by his new manager, Cope changed his image: cutting his hair,
wearing rocker’s leathers and embracing a “Rock God” perspective (as well
as investing in a bizarre climbable microphone stand (with integral steps).

To record and tour the album, Cope put together a new backing group, this
featured lead guitarist
Donald Ross Skinner and drummer Chris Whitten and James Eller (who’d played
alongside Cope on the second Teardrop Explodes album,  Wilder) and Cope himself on vocals and rhythm

For the album, Cope also played keyboards under the alias of “Double

Several songs on the album originated from much earlier than the others.
“Screaming Secrets” had been a Teardrop Explodes song which never made it to
album, while “Spacehopper” dated back to late 1970s writing sessions with
Ian McCulloch.

The album’s new songs abandoned the collapsing psychedelic styles of
Fried in favour of a crisp, punchier and more structured sound, drawing partially on Cope’s professed love for   Detroit heavy rock acts such as early   Alice Cooper.

Early sessions were supervised by
Ramones producer  Ed Stasium and delivered the song
“World Shut Your Mouth” (which became Cope’s biggest solo hit, reaching #19
in the UK in 1986), “Pulsar” and “Spacehopper”. The remaining album sessions
were produced by Warne Livesey. The parent album was well received and
generated two more singles (“Trampolene” and “Eve’s Volcano”).

This deluxe version of the album contains all the B-side and remixes which
have been sequenced by Julian himself. With notes by Ian Harrison and
updated art this is a great testament to one of Julian Copes best and
well-loved albums.

Saint Julian Deluxe Edition

Disc 1

01. Trampoline

02. Shot Down

03. Eve’s Volcano

04. Spacehopper

05. Planet Ride

06. World Shut Your Mouth

07. Saint Julian

08. Pulsar

09. Screaming Secrets

10. A Crack in the Clouds

Disc 2

01. I’ve Got Levitation

02. Umpteenth Unnatural Blues

03. Disaster

04. Warwick the Kingmaker

05. Non-Alignment Pact

06. Mock Turtle

07. Almost Beautiful Child (I & II)

08. Transporting

09. Trampoline Warne Out Mix

10. World Shut Your Mouth Trouble Funk Mix

11. Pulsar Nx Live

12. Shot Down Live

13. Eve’s Volcano (Covered in Sin)/Vulcano Lungo 12″ Remix

14. Spacehopper – Annexe

Previous articleFOLKS – Manchester’s best new guitar band release single
Next articleNick Cave : listen to new track from upcoming album here and world tour dates


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here