Judging panel announced for this year’s Mercury Prize

Mercury Music Prize logo 2016

The judging panel for this year’s Mercury prize has been announced with new addition Marcus Mumford not boding well for anything very exciting winning…This year’s 12 shortlisted albums will be announced on Thursday, July 27 at a live launch hosted by Huw Stephens. The award which costs bands £200 to enter gets a lot of media attention for something that doesn’t represent all music.


The twelve 2017 Hyundai Mercury Prize judges are:

Phil Alexander – Editor-in-Chief, Mojo and Q
Clara Amfo – Broadcaster
MistaJam – DJ & Broadcaster
Marcus Mumford – Musician and Songwriter
Jeff Smith – Head of Music, 6 Music and Radio 2
Jessie Ware – Musician and Songwriter
Mike Walsh – Head of Music, Radio X

Jamie Cullum – Musician and Broadcaster
Ella Eyre – Musician and Songwriter
Harriet Gibsone – Music News Editor, The Guardian
Lianne La Havas – Musician and Songwriter
Will Hodgkinson – Chief Rock & Pop Critic, The Times



Featured News

The Author

Words by

Share and comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get Your Tickets At Skiddle

To buy tickets for our events please visit: Skiddle.

Tickets by Skiddle