Johnny Rotten to play King Herod in Jesus Christ Superstar!

question time for Rotten!

This sounds like it’s made up but it seems to be true…from the Rotten ones own website…

We are proud to confirm John Lydon will be playing King Herod in the North American arena tour of Jesus Christ Superstar this summer.

“I’m here to sing with the King of the Jews, who could ask for anything more?” – John Lydon

The 54-city tour will kick off in New Orleans’ Lakefront Arena on June 9th – taking in the likes of Toronto, Chicago, Boston, Los Angeles, New York City and many more cities – before closing at Philadelphia’s Wells Fargo Arena on August 17th. See the official Jesus Christ Superstar website for full dates…

John will be joined by Brandon Boyd of Incubus (Judas Iscariot), JC Chasez from NSYNC (Pontius Pilate) and Michelle Williams from Destiny’s Child (Mary Magdalene); along with British actor and singer Ben Forster (Jesus Christ) in Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice’s new arena rock production of the long established stage show.

Set in the present day and updated for a 21st-century audience, Jesus Christ Superstar is a live two-hour rock concert with over 50 cast and musicians performing a dramatization of the last seven days in the life of Jesus of Nazareth. Told from the point of view of Jesus’s friend Judas Iscariot, the original story from The Bible is reflected through our modern society to bring the Gospels to life using contemporary costumes plus arena-scale lighting and video effects that demonstrate the eternal power of this timeless story.

Tickets for the first 22 shows, New Orleans through Edmonton, will be on sale beginning Friday, April 11 via the Jesus Christ Superstar website. Also see the JCS Twitter and Facebook pages to hear about exclusive pre-sale opportunities.

See the official Jesus Christ Superstar website for more info…


Featured News

The Author

Words by

Share and comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get Your Tickets At Skiddle

To buy tickets for our events please visit: Skiddle.

Tickets by Skiddle

Notice: unserialize(): Error at offset 1384 of 1573 bytes in /var/www/vhosts/ on line 890