John Wesley launches new track ‘to outrun the light’

Renowned singer / songwriter & guitarist John Wesley is set to release his forthcoming 8th studio album ‘a way you’ll never be’ on October 7th, 2016 on InsideOut Music. Following the recent launch of the track ‘by the light of a sun’, he is now pleased to reveal the next new track, the atmospheric seven minutes long ‘to outrun the light’. You can watch the lyric video for it here:

John had this say: “The lyrics in this song try and touch upon that moment when you know your life is going to change forever and there is nothing you can do about it. You begin to question your own identity. You look back on all the years invested and fear that everything you thought you knew, was wrong to begin with. You wonder if perhaps, you have, “outrun the light”.”


john wesley a way

‘a way you’ll never be’ was produced by Jim Morris at the legendary Morrisound Studios and you can find the full track-listing below:

  1. by the light of a sun (5:32)
  2. a way you’ll never be (7:18)
  3. to outrun the light (7:07)
  4. the revolutionist (5:57)
  5. nada (5:41)
  6. the silence in coffee (5:09)
  7. unsafe space (4:17)
  8. sun.a.rose (6:44)
  9. epic (4:51)
  10. pointless endeavors (03:38)


The album will be available in Digipak CD, 2LP + CD and Digital Download. Presale at the InsideOut Music shops starts September 9th!

A special offer is up at Burning Shed, pre-order your copy now as the first 170 copies will include a signed postcard!


John Wesley has built a long and varied career as a songwriter, guitarist, and recording artist. His music has been called lyrically sensitive and musically dynamic. His song-writing style incorporates emotionally-charged vocals that evoke the honesty and intimacy of Roger Waters and Patty Griffin coupled with a melodic yet intricate guitar style reminiscent of David Gilmour, Alex Lifeson, and Jeff Beck. John Wesley has performed as guitarist/vocalist for critically acclaimed UK based recording act Porcupine Tree, during the “In Absentia”, “Deadwing”, “Fear of a Blank Planet”, and “The Incident” world tours with whom he played with for nine years, culminating in 2010 with sold out performances at Radio City Music Hall and the Royal Albert Hall.

 In support of the album, John will head out as support to Marillion & Steven Wilson in the US & Canada.


1994 – Under the Red and White Sky

1995 – The Closing of the Pale Blue Eyes

1998 – The Emperor Falls

2002 – Chasing Monsters

2005 – Shiver

2011 – The Lilypad Suite

2014 – Disconnect

2016 – a way you’ll never be





Feature by Mike Ainscoe. You can find more of Mike’s writing on Louder Than War at his author’s archive. He can be found on Facebook and his website is

Previous articleIst Ist and Jekyll: The Soup Kitchen, Manchester – live review
Next articleThe Coal Porters: No.6 – album review
Mike has been contributing to Louder Than War since 2012, rising through the ranks from contributor to Sub Editor and now Reviews Editor. He brings his eclectic taste to the table with views on live shows (including photography) and album reviews, features and interviews from rock to metal to acoustic and folk.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here