Jarvis Cocker – Selected lyrics to be published

Selected Lyrics
20 October 2011
£14.99 hardback, £11.99 ebook (Faber & Faber)

I am not Jesus, though I have the same initials.
I am the man who stays home and does the dishes.
And how was your day?
Is that woman still trying to do your head in?

Jarvis Cocker is arguably regarded as one of the most original and memorable lyricists and performers of recent decades. Mother, Brother, Lover ”“ his first book ”“ is a collection of seventy lyrics, selected and annotated by the author.

Opening with an essay on the art of lyric-writing, the selection features Pulp classics such as ”ËœCommon People’, ”ËœBabies’ and ”ËœThis is Hardcore’, as well as less familiar and unreleased songs. Spanning thirty years of songwriting, the collection reveals a unique sensibility: a sometimes visceral, sometimes everyday take on love, relationships and the things that happen when the lights get low.

‘Mother, Brother, Lover’ takes the reader on a tour into the life, art and preoccupations of one of the great British artists of the late twentieth century. Shocking, sharp, clever and funny, it is a beautiful, enduring collection.

Jarvis Cocker has been making music for two-thirds of his life. Two dozen of these years were spent in Pulp, a group with whom he enjoyed most of the experiences you can have as the singer in a band. Over this time, Jarvis went from being the quintessential outsider to one of the most recognised and cherished figures in Britain.

Does Cockers work stand up to such close scrutiny? – Any views?

Previous articleAnnie Lennox stage outfits exhibited in V & A museum
Next articleBotanist – in conversation…


  1. This website was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something that helped me. Kudos!

  2. F*ckin’ amazing things here. I am very glad to see your article. Thanks so much and i am taking a look forward to contact you. Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

  3. Quran (4:104) – “And be not weak hearted in pursuit of the enemy; if you suffer pain, then surely they (too) suffer pain as you suffer pain…”

  4. Maintain the excellent job mate. This web blog publish shows how well you comprehend and know this subject.

  5. I simply could not depart your website before suggesting that I actually loved the usual info a person supply for your visitors? Is going to be back ceaselessly in order to check out new posts

  6. Thank you, I have just been looking for information about this subject for a while and yours is the best I have came upon till now. However, what about the bottom line? Are you certain concerning the source?

  7. An attention-grabbing discussion is price comment. I think that you must write extra on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject however typically people are not enough to talk on such topics. To the next. Cheers rtv httpss://www.spislinkow.com/agd,i,rtv,k,19/

  8. Jarvis Cocker – Selected lyrics to be published – Louder Than War seo tools httpss://scrapebox.overblog.com/

  9. Jarvis Cocker – Selected lyrics to be published – Louder Than War celine bags httpss://www.celine360.com/


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here