James Announce New Album La Petite Mort and Reveal Frozen Britain Single

Manchester legends James have today announced the release of their thirteenth album La Petite Mort on 2 June and made available the first single off the album Frozen Britain as a download for pre-orders and streaming via their official site.

The album written and recorded in London, Scotland, Lisbon, Athens and Ancoats, Manchester over the past two years is their first full-length since 2008’s comeback Hey Ma and their first new material since 2010’s double EP set The Night Before and The Morning After.  Six of the ten songs from the album, including the first single Moving On which is due for release on 28th April, were previewed on last year’s arena tour and festival dates.

La Petite Mort is the first fruit of an innovative deal that combines the might of publishers BMG, who purchased the rights to James’ back catalogue in 2012 and indie label Cooking Vinyl.  It will be released on CD, double vinyl and download and is available for pre-order with a number of bundle options and a limited signed hologram print from their official shop.

The album features ten tracks – Walk Like You, Curse Curse, Moving On, Gone Baby Gone, Frozen Britain, Interrogation, Bitter Virtue, All In My Mind, Quicken The Dead and All I’m Saying.   The lyrics are heavily influenced by the death of singer Tim Booth’s mother and his inspiration Gabrielle Roth.

Frozen Britain is the first song to be revealed from the record and is available as a free download with pre-orders of the album and is streaming on the band’s official site.


James recently sold out their night of the Summer In The City festival at Manchester Castlefields Arena in under an hour and have also announced performances at Benicassim Festival in Spain and Camp Bestival for the summer.  A UK arena tour and more festival dates are also expected to be announced in due course.

La Petite Mort is released on June 2nd.

James official website can be found here.  They are also on Facebook and band members Tim Booth and Larry Gott can be found on Twitter.

All words by David Brown.  You can find more of his work on Louder Than War here.  He also runs the One Of The Three James website and Facebook page.



Bands Featured Music News

The Author

Words by

Share and comment

2 comments on “James Announce New Album La Petite Mort and Reveal Frozen Britain Single”

Leave a comment?
  1. thanx David for this review, dying to listen to the whole album… not to mention experiencing more and more James gigs ;-)
    cheers, L

  2. Great News – greetings from http://www.kasse4.de, propably the biggest fans of James in Germany.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get Your Tickets At Skiddle

To buy tickets for our events please visit: Skiddle.

Tickets by Skiddle