J Mascis Shares New Track, Wide Awake, Featuring Cat Power

J Mascis has just shared a new track, Wide Awake (a collaboration with Cat Powers) from his new solo album, Tied to a Star, which is due to be released on August 25th via Sub Pop. Check it out below.

Tied to a Star will be released worldwide on CD / LP / DL from August 25th via Sub Pop. The album was recorded and produced by J Mascis and mixed by John Agnello at Bisquiteen in Amherst, MA. As well as Chan Marshall, Tied to a Star also features guest appearances from musicians Ken Maiuri (Young@Heart Chorus), Pall Jenkins (Black Heart Procession) and Mark Mulcahy (Miracle Legion). Please find a complete track listing below.

Tied to a Star is now available for preorder from Sub Pop Megamart. Preorders from will receive the limited edition “Loser” version on hot pink vinyl and an art print (while supplies last). Pre-order bundles are also available at jmascis.com, including limited-edition merchandise.

Tracklising below the stream of Wide Awake:

Tied to a Star track listing:

  • 1. Me Again
  • 2. Every Morning
  • 3. Heal the Star
  • 4. Wide Awake
  • 5. Stumble
  • 6. And Then
  • 7. Drifter
  • 8. Trailing Off
  • 9. Come Down
  • 10. Better Plane


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here