Time for one of our favourite annual traditions as we ask Invada Records’ label manager Redg Weeks what his top 30 albums of the year were. As always the list is a diverse and excellent read. 2017 has been a wonderful year for Invada as they continue (with their equally brilliant friends over at Lakeshore Records) to lead the field in quality soundtrack releases including two stunning releases by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis plus the acclaimed Stranger Things Season 2 OST by Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein. So without further ado it’s over to Redg:


Redg Weeks (Invada Records label Manager)  – Invada HQ /Office Playlist Top 30 of 2017.

1. Drab Majesty: The Demonstration (Dais LP)
2. Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds: Lovely Creatures 1984-2014 (Mute/ BMG LP)
3. Code Orange: Forever (Roadrunner LP)
4. The Vietnam War/ Patriots Day: Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross (Null Corporation LP/ Lakeshore Digital)
5. Blade Runner 2049: Hans Zimmer & Benjamin Wallfich (Epic LP)
6. Stranger Things 2: Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein (Invada/ Lakeshore LP)
7. David Bowie: A New Career In A New Town 1977-1982  2017 Expanded Boxset (Parlophone LP)
8. Wind River/ War Machine: Nick Cave & Warren Ellis (Invada/ Lakeshore LP)
9. Slowdive: Slowdive (Dead Oceans LP)
10. Gauguion: Warren Ellis (Milan LP)
11. Sally Dige: Holding On (DKA LP)
12. Husker Du: Savage Young Du Boxset (Numero Group LP)
13. Prevenge: Toy Drum (Invada LP)
14. Twin Peaks Limited Event Series Soundtrack/ Music from the Limited Event Series (Rhino LP)
15. Converge: The Dusk In Us (Deathwish LP)
16. Loving Vincent: Clint Mansell (Milan LP)
17. Brawl in Cell Block 99 OST: Various Artists (Lakeshore Digital LP)
18. Battery: For the Rejected by The Rejected (Revelation LP)
19. Raw: Jim Williams (Death Waltz LP)
20. The Smiths: The Queen is Dead 2017 Expanded Boxset (Warner Bros LP)
21. Black Coat’s Daughter: Elvis Perkins (Death Waltz LP)
22. Free Fire: Geoff Barrow & Ben Sailsbury + Various Artists (Invada LP)
23. Primus: The Desaturating Seven (ATO LP)
24. Sisters Of Mercy: Some Girls Wander by Mistake 2017 Expanded Boxset (Warner Music LP)
25. Integrity: Howling, For The Nightmare Shall Consume (Relapse LP)
26. Dub Syndicate: The first four albums remastered/ Displaced Masters (On-U-Sound LP)
27. All Out War: Give Us Extinction (Organised Crime LP)
28. Nightmare On Elm Street Box Of Souls Boxset: Various Artists (Death Waltz LP)
29. Metallica: Master Of Puppets 2017 Expanded Boxset (Blackened LP)
30. College: Shanghai (Invada LP)

For more information about Invada visit their website  They’re also on Facebook and tweet as @invadauk.

Redg himself can be found on Twitter as @redgweeks and his Invada Records copilots go by the handles @jetfury (Geoff Barrow) and @fatpaulpresents (Paul Horlick).

All words by Redg Weeks & Simon Tucker.

Previous articleO’Hooley & Tidow, WinterFolk: The Met, Bury – live review
Next articleHo99o9 – Electric Ballroom London – live review
Raised by music obsessive parents on a diet of Ska, Bowie, Queen… and the Bay City Rollers. Discovered dance music and heavy metal at the same time making for a strange brew of taste. I do this for the love of an art form which welcomes all types and speaks to us all. Find me on twitter @simontucker1979.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here