What has now become as traditional as mince pies and Boxing Day sales, LTW catch up with Invada Records manager Redg Weeks to find out what his favourite releases of the year have been.

Before that though it is worth stating what an incredible year it has been for Invada Records. They have released some of the finest soundtracks (often working in conjunction with the equally wonderful Lakeshore Records) and with Thought Forms’ Songs About Drowning and The KVB’s Of Desire they have also released some of the most progressive and exciting music this year with both albums featuring heavily in many end-of-year lists (this writers included).

So without further ado it’s over to Redg;

Redg Weeks (Invada Records label Manager)  – Invada HQ /Office Playlist Top 35 of 2016. 

 1) San Junipero (Black Mirror) Soundtrack – Clint Mansell (Lakeshore Digital)

2) David Bowie – Black Star (ISO Records LP)

3) Before The Flood Soundtrack- Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross / Mogwai / Gustavo Santaolalla (Lakeshore Digital)

4) Stranger Things Vol 1 & Vol 2 Soundtrack – Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein (Invada / Lakeshore LP)

5) Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Skeleton Tree (Bad Seed LP)

6) Deftones – Gore (Reprise LP)

7) The Revenant Soundtrack – Ryuichi Sakamoto & Alva Noto (Milan LP)

8) Arrival Soundtrack – Johan Johannsson (Deutsche Grammophon LP)

9) Nine Inch Nails – Not The Actual Events (NIN Self Released Digital)

10) Survive – RR7349 (Relapse LP)

11) The KVB – Of Desire (Invada LP)

12) High Rise Soundtrack – Clint Mansell (Silva Screen LP)

13) SSQ – Playback (Strange Disc LP)

14) You’re Next Soundtrack – Various Artists (Death Waltz LP)

15) Thought Forms – Songs About Drowning (Invada LP)

16) Sherwood At The Controls Vol 2 1985-1990 – Various Artists (On-U Sound LP)

17) Captain Fantastic Soundtrack – Alex Somers (Invada / Lakeshore LP)


18) Einsturzende Neubauten – Greatest Hits (Potomak LP)

19) Trials Of The Blood Dragon Soundtrack – Power Glove (Invada LP)

20) The Warriors Soundtrack – Various Artists / Barry De Vorzon (Waxwork LP)

21) Men Against Fire (Black Mirror) Soundtrack – Ben Salisbury & Geoff Barrow (Invada Digital)

22) Twin Peaks Soundtrack – Angel Badalementi (Death Waltz LP)

23) Neon Demon Soundtrack – Cliff Martinez ( Milan LP)

24) Papa M – Highway Songs (Drag City LP)

25) Radiohead – A Moon Shaped Pool (XL LP)

26) Panzer Dragon Soundtrack – Yoshitaka Azuma (Data Disc LP)


27) Mother Love Bone – On Earth As It Is ‘The Complete Works’ (Repubic CD)

28) Factory Floor – 25 25 (DFA LP)

29) Death In Vegas – Transmission (Drone LP)

30) Federale – All The Colours Of The Dark (Death Waltz LP)

31) Tad – God’s Balls / 8 Way Santa / Salt Lick Reissues (Sub Pop LPs)

32) Baskin Soundtrack – Ulas Pakkan (Invada / Lakeshore LP)

33) Amore Soundtrack – Vangelis Papathanassiou ( Monster Melodies LP)

34) Ministry – Trax Rarities (Cleopatra LP)

35) Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence Soundtrack – Ryuichi Sakamoto  (Milan LP)



For more information about Invada visit their website  They’re also on Facebook and tweet as @invadauk.

Redg himself can be found on Twitter as @redgweeks and his Invada Records copilots go by the handles @jetfury (Geoff Barrow) and @fatpaulpresents (Paul Horlick).

All words by Redg Weeks & Simon Tucker.

Previous articlenew band of the day : Grausame Tochter : sex and death SM band with great post Goth music
Next articleDeadwall rise up from the floods
Raised by music obsessive parents on a diet of Ska, Bowie, Queen… and the Bay City Rollers. Discovered dance music and heavy metal at the same time making for a strange brew of taste. I do this for the love of an art form which welcomes all types and speaks to us all. Find me on twitter @simontucker1979.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here