Indie Daze festival announces bill for Sept 13 London event

Indie Daze festival has been announced for the Forum on Saturday Sept 13th with a line of big indie hitters.


Ned’s Atomic Dustbin
Jesus Jones
The Darling Buds
Miles & Erica (The Wonder Stuff)
 Power of Dreams

Graham Crabb DJ (Pop Will Eat Itself)
 The Popguns
The Flatmates

!Indie Daze is a brand new one-day indoor festival at The Forum, Kentish Town, London. From midday and midnight, 12 hours of music brings together classic indie bands from the 80s and 90s under one roof.

Headliners, Ned’s Atomic Dustbin, formed in 1989 while still at 6th form college. After several singles on independent label Chapter 22 Records, they signed to Sony in 1991, achieving their first UK Top 20 single Happy, with debut album God Fodder making it to number 4 in the UK Top 40 Album Charts. Followed by Are You Normal? in 1992 and Brainbloodvolume in 1994, Ned’s Atomic Dustbin spilt in 1995. In 2008 they returned with the original line-up, and continue to play event-style gigs.

Featuring special guests, Jesus Jones, formed in 1988 with an alternative dance sound that led to success both in the UK and across the pond. In 1991, they won ‘Best Newcomer’ at the MTV awards, with their subsequent US tour selling out in advance. Jesus Jones will be performing their 1991 UK Number 1 album Doubt alongside some career spanning hits.

The Darling Buds were formed in South Wales in 1986, and became part of the C86 movement. After signing to Sony in 1988, they released their critically acclaimed debut album Pop Said in 1989. The Darling Buds recently reformed for an intended one-off gig at London’s Borderline. Delighted by the response of fans, making the show a sell-out, they decided to join the Indie Daze line-up.

Miles Hunt and Erica Nockalls will be playing a rollicking acoustic set, consisting of songs from their albums Not An Exit (2007) and Catching More Than We Miss (2009), as well as hits from The Wonder Stuff, with whom Miles and Erica still regularly play and record.

Ireland’s finest, Power of Dreams will be performing their 1990 debut album Immigrants, Emigrants and Me. Formed in 1989, when Craig Walker was still at school, Power of Dreams were included in the NME’s 1989 ‘stars of tomorrow’ list and went on to success both in the UK and abroad.

Founder Pop Will Eat Itself member, Graham Crabb, will also be joining us for DJ sets, to get you ready for the special guest, Jesus Jones, and the headline band, Ned’s Atomic Dustbin. Graham put a new version of The Poppies together in 2011, to celebrate the band’s 25th anniversary, and they continue to perform and release new music in 2014.

Brighton’s stars of the British Jangle Pop scene, The Popguns, are the latest addition to the Indie Daze line-up. Formed in 1986, the band achieved a place in John Peel’s Festive Fifty in 1988 with Landslide, their Top 20 UK Indie Chart hit. After 4 albums, The Popguns disbanded, only to reform in 2012 for a continuing run of live dates.

The Flatmates formed in 1985 in Bristol, in the white heat of the C86 movement – their simple aim to make classic pop tunes which combine the cool and charm of The Ramones and The Ronettes. In the late 80s they released five singles all of which dented the UK indie charts of the day, two of them also reaching the hallowed ground of DJ John Peel’s Festive 50. Tickets £26 (subject to booking fee)
Buy now from Ticketmaster, See Tickets, Stargreen and Usual Agents.


Blogs Featured Music News

The Author

Words by

Share and comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get Your Tickets At Skiddle

To buy tickets for our events please visit: Skiddle.

Tickets by Skiddle