Independent Record Label Tangled Talk Give Away Huge 40 Track Sampler – plus news about debut lp by former Tangled Talk signees valesUK based independent record label Tangled Talk, whose roster of artists include some of the best bands currently trading under the loose umbrella label “hardcore”, have got a brand new website – and to celebrate they’re giving away a huge 40 track sampler featuring many of those artists. Full details below – along with news about one of their former signees, Vales.

As the label themselves confess “It’s been forever since Tangled Talk Records has actually had a fully functioning website”. But as of last Monday that situation was rectified as a casual browse in the direction of this url: will prove.

To celebrate they’ve collected together 40 pretty fucking rad and gnarly tracks by “either bands we’ve worked with, plan to work with or just bands we love” to give away as a FREE download titled “Radical Friends”.

The list of artists on it is impressive and although it seems a bit unfair to single any out we’ll give a nod in the direction of some we’ve featured on Louder Than War; for instance Goodtime Boys, Gnarwolves, Svalbard, Pariso, Vales, Baby Godzilla and The Physics House Band. (Of course we also fully endorse all the other bands on the sampler too.) The full track list can be found below, as can details re: getting your hands on a copy.

In related news, just when we thought we were never going to hear from them again the band Vales, who were formerly signed to Tangled Talk and who we featured as a “New Artist of the Day” a hec of a long time ago, have FINALLY got their debut album ready to release through 6131 Records. This one’s been a long time coming thanks to “nearly a year of delays” but we hear it’s pretty exceptional – and the two tracks they previewed last week lead us to the conclusion that this is very much the case.

Titled Wilt & Rise and recorded by Alex Estrada (Touché Amoré, Joyce Manor), the album “captures the spirit and sound of the “screamo” resurgence, while putting a unique twist on the sound unlike anyone else in the genre”.

6131 Records will be releasing Wilt & Rise digitally worldwide on February 18th, with a vinyl LP release due out in the UK some time in March.

Check out two tracks off the album here:

Tracklist for Radical Friends:

1. Goodtime Boys – Callous
2. The Long Haul – Black Dog
3. Listener – Good News First
4. Gnarwolves – Melody Has Big Plans
5. Darkshaft – Free Ben Shunna
6. Svalbard – Flightless Birds
7. Pariso – Tower of Genus
8. Vales – Scripted
9. The Prestige – Ballroom
10. Stallone – Nailed Myself To The Cross
11. The JCQ – Plainview
12. Let’s Talk Daggers – Humannequin
13. Battle For Paris – Here’s To Swimming With Bowlegged Women
14. Blak Nite – Understnd
15. Tigerscout – Never Knows Best
16. Moose Blood – Bukowski
17. The Story So Far – Empty Space
18. Hop Along – Tibetan Pop Stars
19. Katie Malco – His Face Is A Map
20. Nai Harvest – Whatever
21. Dikembe – Apology Not Fucking Accepted
22. CityCop – Hospital Beds
23. Brontide – Coloured Tongues
24. Holland – Everything You Know Is Lost, But Us
25. We Never Learned To Live – Crow’s Feet
26. BATALJ – Snail Satan
27. Andrew Thomson – Bus Pass
28. Otto – Clouds
29. Hey, Joni – Isabelle
30. The American Scene – Just Say It
31. Shark Bait – Crippled Youth
32. Baby Godzilla – A Good Idea Realised
33. Weak Teeth – ‘I Do Believe We’re Naked’ by Funky C, Funky Do
34. BATS – Astronomy Astrology
35. The Physics House Band – Titan
36. Spirit Moves – Afterglow
37. Anteater – Vague Unrest
38. The Tidal Sleep – Failures/Off
39. I Kill Giants – Part 3
40. Thom Weeks – The Following Is My Eulogy

Get the whole thing as a free download, in the format of your choice. To quote from Tangled Talk:

We just need an email address so we can send your download link. You can even uncheck the box if you don’t want us to spam you occasionally give you updates and other free stuff. All we ask in return is that you consider sharing it with someone else who might appreciate it:

So what are you waiting for? Get downloading and sharing!


Tangled Talk can also be found on Facebook, Twitter and Tumblr. And once again that website address is:

Vales can be found on Facebook and Twitter. They also have a Bandcamp and Tumblr.

All words Guy Manchester. More words by Guy can be read here. He tweets as @guid0man & uses Tumblr.

Previous articleNew Artist Of The Day: Chrissy Barnacle
Next articleFindlay: Manchester Band On The Wall – live review
Guy is a former full time member of the Louder Than War editorial team, who's since moved on to pastures new. Music's been a large part of his life since he first stumbled across Peel on his tranny as a fifteen year old. His whole approach to music was learnt from Peel in fact, which includes having as inclusive a taste in music as possible. Guy devotes most of his time looking for new music & although he's been known to say "the only good music is new music" he pretty much accepts this is bollocks. Favourite band The Minutemen.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here