Idles announce new album!

Idles return later this year with their third album. You bothered? We fuckin’ are at Louder Than War! After the stomping twat bastard of Brutalism, the absolute punk mindblower that was The Joys Of The Act Of Resistance, they hopefully match that with Ultra Mono. You decide soon…

On September 25th, IDLES will release their anticipated third album – Ultra Mono – via Partisan Records. Accompanying today’s announcement, the band have shared album highlight and thunderous call-to-action – Grounds – alongside a music video (dir. by Rob French). Listen/watch below and feel free to share:

Frontman Joe Talbot says of Grounds: “We wanted to write a song that embodied self-belief, and gave us self-belief – a counter-punch to all the doubt we build up from all the noise we so easily let in. We wanted to make the sound of our own hearts’ marching band, armed with a jack hammer and a smile. We wanted to make the sound of our engine starting. So we did. Thank you.”

Ahead of release, IDLES will also host a series of three live performances from an iconic studio space (to be named later) on Aug 29 & 30, which will be professionally recorded, filmed, and livestreamed. Upon purchase of a ticket, attendees will receive a unique link to access the performance live. Tickets on sale now, more info and link to purchase HERE.

Recorded in Paris and produced by Nick Launay (Nick Cave, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Arcade Fire) and Adam ‘Atom’ Greenspan (Anna Calvi, Cut Copy), with Kenny Beats (FKA Twigs, DaBaby, Vince Staples) providing additional programming, ‘Ultra Mono’ was sonically constructed to capture the feeling of a hip-hop record. Across all twelve brutally relevant tracks, the band double down on the vitriolic sneer and blunt social commentary of their past work, with themes of active presence, inclusivity, class, gender inequality, nationalism, community, and toxic masculinity remaining ever-present. ‘Ultra Mono’ also features guest vocals from Jehnny Beth (Savages), and additional guest contributions from Warren Ellis (Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds), David Yow, and Jamie Cullum.

If their last record – 2018’s Joy As An Act Of Resistance’- was meant to detail IDLES’ manifesto, then Ultra Mono is the sound of the band heading into battle, battering ram in hand, for those tenets. The phrase “momentary acceptance of the self” serves as spiritual guide and mantra throughout, as Talbot elaborates on further in an essay printed inside the album’s physical packaging (read that HERE).

In addition to sharing the tracklist for Ultra Mono, the band have also made available the dates on which all upcoming album tracks + videos will be released (see below).

Joy As An Act Of Resistance was one of the best reviewed rock records of 2018, debuting top 5 on the official UK album charts. ‘Joy’ earned the band instantly legendary performances at GlastonburyJools HollandNPR’s Tiny Desk, and sold out tours across the world. They were profiled by the NY Times and PBS NewsHour as part of a group of new bands tearing down outdated perceptions of masculinity, won the coveted Ivor Novello Award for Best Album, and were nominated for the Mercury Prize and a Brit Award last year. All 10,000 tickets to the band’s Dec 2019 headline performance at London’s Alexandra Palace sold out in under 24 hours.

‘Ultra Mono’ artwork:

Idles announce new album!

‘Ultra Mono’ tracklist:
1. War
2. Grounds
3. Mr. Motivator
4. Anxiety
5. Kill Them With Kindness
6. Model Village
7. Ne Touche Pas Moi (feat. Jehnny Beth)
8. Carcinogenic
9. Reigns
10. The Lover
11. A Hymn
12. Danke

For more information:

Words by Wayne Carey who writes for Louder Than War. His author profile is here 

Previous articleIDLES announce new album
Next articleAlex Taylor (The Shop Assistants) RIP : C86 icon
"I'm a 50 year old man, and I like it!" A music nut from North Manchester. If it's good I'm on it. Most genres covered but mainly alternative post punk indie with a dash of hip hop stylee.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here