Holy Moly & The Crackers “make riotous party music for the masses.”  In the aftermath of their festival stealing appearance at Head For The Hills a few months back, we labelled it “a huge slab of rock and soul” – they even used the phrase on their latest promo poster.

Their new album, Take A Bite is due out on 5th April 2019 but the band have released a teaser in the form of All I Got Is You.

Watch the video here:

Led by the euphoric lead single, All I Got Is You, Take A Bite is promised as “a concise, passionate take on folk, blues and indie rock.” Having already had a sneak preview, we can confirm that the new songs combines pop song craft with stomping, four to the floor backing, demonstrating the Newcastle-based sextet’s commerciality and ambition, as well as their ability to tackle personal lyrical fare, deftly led by our hero, vocalist Ruth Patterson.

We could quote a paragraph or two of pre-release press release excitement, that emphasises their gin and tonic fuelled exuberance and  expressive take on British folk, but can comfortably confirm the promise that Take A Bite sets its stall confidently in the space created in a strange musical Venn diagram that takes in the Gossip, Arctic Monkeys, the B52s and Gogol Bordello.

Final Artwork 100x100

Take A Bite will be released on the 5th April on the band’s own Pink Lane Records while the band also head out on tour in April.

Headline UK dates, more to be announced:
4 April – Liverpool, O2 Academy 2
5 April – Newcastle, Cluny
6 April – Stockton, Georgian Theatre
7 April – Hull, The Welly
10 April – Leicester, The Musician
11 April – Birmingham, O2 Academy 3
12 April – Sheffield, Greystones
13 April – Manchester, Band On The Wall
19 April – Edinburgh, Sneaky Petes
20 April – Aberdeen, The Tunnels
21 April – Galashiels, Mac Arts Theatre
10 October – London, Scala

Holy Moly & The Crackers website, Facebook, Twitter


Feature by Mike Ainscoe. You can find more of Mike’s writing on Louder Than War at his author’s archive. He can be found on Facebook and is currently revamping his website…


Previous articleTed McKenna (SAHB drummer) RIP
Next articleThe Favourite – Film Review
Mike has been contributing to Louder Than War since 2012, rising through the ranks from contributor to Sub Editor and now Reviews Editor. He brings his eclectic taste to the table with views on live shows (including photography) and album reviews, features and interviews from rock to metal to acoustic and folk.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here