Gulp - All Good Wishes

Gulp - All Good WishesGULP


(E.L.K. Records)


Out Now


Gulp’s sophomore release, packed full of low-key dreamy electronic pop, is a ray of sunshine in a world full of darkness and negativity.

Opening with single Search for Your Love, the scene is set with the band, comprising of Super Furry Animal, Guto Pryce, partner Lindsey Leven alongside guitarist Gid Goundrey, treating the listener to a velvety smooth electronic soundscape with sultry guitars underlining Lindsey’s sylph-like dreamy vocal.

The album continues in a similar vein providing a perfect soundtrack to the summer, Lindsey’s vocal helping you drift away. At times her vocal hints of Nina Persson, elsewhere Alison Goldfrapp, but always elegant and effervescent. While recent single Morning Velvet Sky hints musically at Touch era Eurythmics.

The album is both soothing and uplifting, enabling you to forget about the stresses and strains of modern life, while the use of modern technology in creating the wistful spacey songs lifts the spirit taking your mind off to an oasis of calm and peace.

The fragile minimalistic orchestral nature of the title track is a thing of beauty with Lindsey’s breathy vocal giving the track an added layer of dream-like quality. Ride has the ability to sound futuristic but with medieval qualities in the music. A triumph in the creation of striking epic soundscapes.

Gulp can be found online, on bandcamp and Facebook.


All words by Neil Hodge. More writing by Neil on Louder Than War can be found at his author’s archive. You can also find Neil online at his blog thegingerquiff.

Previous articleBobbie Gentry: The Girl From Chicksaw County – The Complete Capitol Masters – album preview
Next articleWatch This! Manchester’s Mercury Machine Premiere Rousing New Single Aurora


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here