Godflesh announce details of first album in 13 years, share new song and announce UK tour dates

God flesh have announced details of their first new album in 13 years. It’s titled A World Lit Only By Fire and is set for an October 6th release on their own Avalanche Recordings label. They’ve also shared a new song off it and have announced a UK tour. See below for more details.

From the press release:

“The album arrives on the heels of June’s Decline And Fall EP, which was met with widespread acclaim for its effortless synthesis of the duo’s fan-favoured early albums, themselves groundbreaking genre experiments that pioneered an integration of electronic music’s bombastic rhythms, metal’s bludgeoning force, and post punk’s aural atmospherics. Whereas the new EP succeeded by fulfilling listener expectations, the full length exceeds them; delivering a full force exploration of the furthest boundaries of Godflesh’s extreme sonics, and then pushing beyond them, detailing the rich musical experience accrued in the dozen year span and countless musical projects (Jesu, Final, Vitriol, Greymachine, Techno Animal, etc.) between recordings.”

“The duo, comprised of legendary talents of Justin Broadrick (also of Jesu, JK Flesh, Techno Animal, Pale Sketcher, and more) and GC Green, formed in 1988 in the same fertile Birmingham, UK scene that forged the talents of Napalm Death, Carcass, and Head of David among many others. Initially disbanding in 2002, the band resumed live performances in 2010 and began the arduous work of crafting a follow up to 2001’s Hymns. The resultant self-recorded ten song set mounts the thin line between high definition clarity and raw, visceral heaviness, inducing a meditative state via seething minimalism that hinges on ritualistic riff repetition and the tenuous membrane between anxiety-inducing dissonance and cathartic minor key melody.”

December UK tour dates:

  • Tue 09.12.14 The Haunt Brighton
  • Wed 10.12.14 Garage London
  • Thu 11.12.14 Rescue Rooms Nottingham
  • Fri 12.12.14 Sound Control Manchester
  • Sat 13.12.14 Art School Glasgow

A World Lit Only By Fire track list…

  • 1. New Dark Ages
  • 2. Deadend
  • 3. Shut Me Down
  • 4. Life Giver Life Taker
  • 5. Obeyed
  • 6. Curse Us All
  • 7. Carrion
  • 8. Imperator
  • 9. Towers of Emptiness
  • 10. Forgive Our Fathers


Avalanche Recordings website: avalancheinc.co.uk.

Justin Broadrick’s Facebook and twitter: @JKBroadrick.

Previous articleCAN Vinyl Albums Released Including Out Of Reach – Listen to Serpentine from Out Of Reach, available digitally for the first time
Next articleAdam Ant to announce new album, single and gig details on TV tomorrow
Guy is a former full time member of the Louder Than War editorial team, who's since moved on to pastures new. Music's been a large part of his life since he first stumbled across Peel on his tranny as a fifteen year old. His whole approach to music was learnt from Peel in fact, which includes having as inclusive a taste in music as possible. Guy devotes most of his time looking for new music & although he's been known to say "the only good music is new music" he pretty much accepts this is bollocks. Favourite band The Minutemen.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here