Fugazi Share The Song “Merchandise” From Their First Demo Release, Upcoming On Dischord Records In Nov

Fugazi have just dropped the track ‘Merchandise’ from their first demo release which is due out via Dischord Records on November 18th (and which we first wrote about here.) Check it out below, along with more details about the release.

“In early January 1988 and after only ten shows, Fugazi decided to go into Inner Ear Studio to see what their music sounded like on tape. The sessions only lasted a couple of days, but tour dates and indecision about the tape would delay the final mix for another two months. Though the band was at first pleased with the results, it soon became clear that this tape would remain a demo as new songs were being written and the older songs were evolving and changing shape while the band was out on tour. It was decided that the session would be passed out free as cassette copies, with the band actively encouraging people to share the recording. In the spring, Fugazi went out on its first U.S. tour and a few weeks after returning from the road they went back to Inner Ear to record what would become their debut Dischord release, the self-titled 7-song 12” EP.

“The only song from the demo session that was formally released was “In Defense of Humans”, which appeared on the State of the Union compilation in 1989. Now, some 26 years later, Dischord is releasing the entire first demo including the one song (“Turn Off Your Guns”) that wasn’t included on the original cassette.

“This release also coincides with the completion of the initial round of uploads to the Fugazi Live Series website. Launched in 2011, the site lists and details all of Fugazi’s 1000+ performances and makes available close to 900 concert recordings that were documented by the band and by the public, as well as countless flyers, ticket stubs, posters, and photographs. After two years of work, all of the recordings in the band’s archive are finally posted.”

Read an interview with Fugazi conducted shortly after the recording session by Andy Perseponko of Desperate State here.

Pre order link: dischord.com/release/181/first-demo.


  • 1) Waiting Room
  • 2) Merchandise
  • 3) Furniture
  • 4) Song #1
  • 5) The Word
  • 6) Bad Mouth
  • 7) Break-In
  • 8) Turn Off Your Guns
  • 9) And the Same
  • 10) In Defense of Humans
  • 11) Joe #1
Previous articleFast Rising Bolton Band Two Weeks Running Announce New EP – Watch Video For Lead Track Now!
Next articleJohn Robb to conduct in conversation with BO NINGEN & SAVAGES at launch for their NEW COLLABORATIVE ALBUM ‘WORDS TO THE BLIND’ at Rough Trade store in Nov
Guy is a former full time member of the Louder Than War editorial team, who's since moved on to pastures new. Music's been a large part of his life since he first stumbled across Peel on his tranny as a fifteen year old. His whole approach to music was learnt from Peel in fact, which includes having as inclusive a taste in music as possible. Guy devotes most of his time looking for new music & although he's been known to say "the only good music is new music" he pretty much accepts this is bollocks. Favourite band The Minutemen.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here