Screen Shot 2017-05-23 at 00.17.15Freak Genes
Alien Snatch Records (CD)
Release date 31st May 2017
Album Review

Freak Genes are a new Manchester based band that consists of members from Proto Idiot and The Red Cords. They formed last year to release their own stuff as a supergroup concept with their own ideas. They claim they can’t play their instruments and no knowledge of recording technique. Don’t get me wrong but when I listened to this album I laughed at this quote! Their debut album is being released on Alien Snatch which is a German based label in Berlin formed in 1999 and specialise in punk, powerpop and garage rock. The band members Charlie Murphy and Andrew Anderson have got a good thing going here. They have that lo-fi punk sound off to a tee.

The album kicks off with the first two tracks Going Wrong and Exposed obviously with a Buzzcocks feel oozing with lo-fi power pop and not lasting more than two minutes in the ethics of true punk ditties. Still Disgusting has hints of Syd Barrett having a pint with Half Man Half Biscuit. Mind The Gap has already been receiving good reviews in the music press and reminds me of The Toy Dolls and has a neat guitar solo added to it. Negatives kicks in with a Jam like intro but has Parquet Courts written all over it. Jekyll & Hyde harks back to Barrett again with added cheeky keyboards thrown in. Nothing’s Plain to see is pure Clash / Pistols with it’s furious guitar kicks. They slow down a bit with the apt Lets Go Slow then go back to a Buzzcocks feel with the next two songs. They go a bit Psych Punk with Not My Type and the next few songs go a bit punk rock with a bit of rock n roll blues thrown in. The last tune could easily be slotted on a Graham Coxon album with it’s infectious guitar intro.

All in all a good debut album by the Manchester duo. If you like Parquet Courts, Buzzcocks, Syd Barrett and short infectious songs then this will be right up your street.

Track Listing:

1. Going Wrong.
2. Exposed.
3. Still Disgusting.
4. Mind The Gap.
5. Negatives.
6. Jekyll & Hyde.
7. Nothing’s Plain To See.
8. Let’s Go Slow.
9. Going Through The Motions.
10. What’s Your Name: Where You From.
11. Not My Type.
12. She’s So Singular.
13. Why You Don’t Like Me.
14. Not Alright With Me.
15. Old Things.
16. You Start To Start.

Previous articleIs this one of the Greatest Love Songs ever written? : Peter Perrett : new song and live dates.
Next articleManchester Arena : the darkest day in pop history
I hail from North Manchester aged 47, now living in Northwich. Been into music since discovering vinyl at 4 years old, into all genres of music with a favourable slant to post punk. As long as it’s good I’m on it. Live gigs are what I’m all about and trying to give new bands a lift whenever I can. E-mail: Blog:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here