Last night (Tuesday 1st August) Kieran Hebden aka Four Tet surprise released a brand new single, ‘Planet’.

Earlier in the evening Four Tet had tweeted that there was to be a new release from him going live at midnight. This was followed up by plays on both Radio One and 6Music of his new single ‘Planet’ which was then released via Bandcamp just before the stroke of twelve.

‘Planet’ is another slice of Four Tet magic as, over its seven minutes-plus running time, we are treated to a deep slice of electronica which contains Hebden’s trademark positivity and romanticism. Hebden is rolling through a rich run of form lately and what is becoming blatantly obvious from his last few releases is that he is one of the most romantic and innately spiritual producers out there, creating music that walks that fine line between dance-floor and head-space, the feet and the heart.

Listen to ‘Planet’ below:

‘Planet’ is available to buy now via Bandcamp.

Four Tet can be found via his website as well as on Facebook and Twitter, where he has the username @FourTet.

All words by Simon Tucker. For more of Simon’s writings for Louder Than War visit his author’s archive or follow him on Twitter @simontucker1979.

Previous articleFat White Family: 100 Club, London – live review
Next articleAnna Ross – interview
Raised by music obsessive parents on a diet of Ska, Bowie, Queen… and the Bay City Rollers. Discovered dance music and heavy metal at the same time making for a strange brew of taste. I do this for the love of an art form which welcomes all types and speaks to us all. Find me on twitter @simontucker1979.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here