Experimental Noiseniks Spectres To Release Debut LP Via Sonic Cathedral

Bristol based noiseniks Spectres, oft-time regulars on the pages of Louder Than War, recently signed to the brilliant and ever reliable Sonic Cathedral (whose bands we’ve covered many times on the site). A match made in heaven one would think, what with said labels rep for gnarly bands who major in the deft deployment of explosive fuzz, feedback and frantic fury – and so it’s proving already with a date finally being announced for the long awaited album by the band.

The low down: Spectres release their debut album, titled ‘Dying’, through Sonic Cathedral on February 23, 2015. It will be available on limited-edition translucent grey vinyl in a gatefold sleeve, CD and as a digital download.

Excellent news.

The band, who have been compared to the likes of My Bloody Valentine, Sonic Youth, Loop, Swervedriver, A Place To Bury Strangers and Royal Trux over the years, have started to avalanche nicely in the build up to the release. Recently you’ll have been able to hear them on Tom Ravenscroft’s 6 Music show (3 times in 8 days), on Huw Stephens Radio 1 show and this week they’re plastered all over NME as said mag’s “Radar Band Of The Week”.

The obvious first question about the release though is why they’re doing it through Sonic Cathedral and not through their own Howling Owl label, a question answered in the press release accompanying the news thus:

“It is very important us for have an identity away from Howling Owl,” explains Joe. “It was always awkward putting our own records out as I think a lot of people just saw the label as a front to promote our own band, so now it will be nice to keep the two as separate as possible, it will benefit both the band and label massively. And it also goes without saying that when you get an opportunity to work with a label that has a great history and you’ve already admired for a long time and that inspired your own label, you can’t really turn it down. It was nice of Sonic Cathedral to come along when that didn’t happen, though.”

Which is fair enough. It also sounds like Howling Owl have a few releases slated in for the start of next year too so it takes a bit of the pressure off the guys not having to do all the promotion work on their own album as well!

Needless to say we’ll have full review of the new album nearer to release. However if you can’t wait that long maybe you can form one of your own based on the first single off the album, ‘Where Flies Sleep’, a re-recorded version of ‘The Sky Of All Places’ which was originally released early in 2014 as part of the Too Pure Singles Club. Check it out below along with a full track list and relevant links to places the band occupy online.

Oh, and the band have a couple of dates lined up before Xmas:

  • December 6 at Drill Festival, Brighton
  • December 15 at The Social, London
You should go to at least one of them


The full tracklisting of ‘Dying’ is:

  • 1. Drag
  • 2. Where Flies Sleep
  • 3. The Sky Of All Places
  • 4. Family
  • 5. This Purgatory
  • 6. Mirror
  • 7. Blood In The Cups
  • 8. Sink
  • 9. Lump
  • 10. Sea Of Trees

Spectres website is here: wearespectres.com. They also have a Facebook page and are on Twitter as @wearespectres. And Sonic Cathedral’s website is here.

Previous articleGodflesh Announce Tour In Support Of 2014 Comeback LP
Next articleLouder Than War Boss John Robb To Host In Conversation Event And DJ At New Bar In Berlin
Guy is a former full time member of the Louder Than War editorial team, who's since moved on to pastures new. Music's been a large part of his life since he first stumbled across Peel on his tranny as a fifteen year old. His whole approach to music was learnt from Peel in fact, which includes having as inclusive a taste in music as possible. Guy devotes most of his time looking for new music & although he's been known to say "the only good music is new music" he pretty much accepts this is bollocks. Favourite band The Minutemen.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here