Exit Calm – The Rapture (Club AC30)
7 inch vinyl / Download
Released 18th February

Yorkshire’s epic space rockers return with a great new single and dates around the country.

Things have been a little quiet on the Exit Calm front this past year, but that’s all about to change with the release of arguably their strongest single to date. An instant favourite with fans when it was previewed at a few dates last summer, this song had Next Single written all over it from the minute it slithered out of the speakers. It’s always a kind of crunch time, that leading single for the second album: judgement day. It has to be a statement of intent. Think of Doves coming back with “There Goes The Fear” in 2002 and the way it raised their profile out of indie circles and onto bigger stages – well this is Exit Calm’s moment.

This band has never been one to do things by halves – their debut album contained not a single track under five minutes, but not one of those minutes was wasted, and the same can be said of the 309 glorious seconds that is “The Rapture”. A full minute of introduction sets the scene; that thunderbolt bass, those incredible sprawling drums and those sheets upon sheets of guitar, and then singer Nicky Smith comes in like a man who has a serious axe to grind, his no-holds-barred lyrics more direct than anything he’s done before. And as ever, they’ve got the dynamics spot on. Build, explode, simmer down gently then crash back in. It’s psychedelic in the dirtiest sense, the black leather rock’n’roll sense; it’s stadium-sized without the bluster; melodic but shot through with beautiful dissonance. It’s unmistakeably Exit Calm, just bigger, more ambitious and ultimately more powerful.


The seven inch is available on green or yellow vinyl from the Club AC30 Shop .
Exit Calm are on tour at the end of February and beginning of March – here’s where to see them:

21 London Borderline
22 Sheffield Academy 2
23 Cheltenham Sound Music Venue
24 Birmingham Academy 3
28 Manchester Deaf Institute (with The Narrows supporting)

1 Glasgow King Tuts
2 Leeds Cockpit
3 York Duchess

For more Exit Calm, visit their website here, or follow them on Twitter and Facebook. All words by Cath Aubergine, more writing by Cath on Louder Than War can be found here.

Previous articleNew Model Army announce new album
Next articleNew Artist of the Day: Atomic Suplex
Cath Aubergine grew up in Cheshire near a chemical factory which sometimes turned the river orange; this may or may not have had lasting effects. It was however usefully close to Manchester where she published her first fanzine “Bobstonkin\' Aubergines” with a school friend in 1989. After spending most of the 90s trying to grow up, she admitted defeat in 2001 and started going to too many gigs instead. Cath started writing about music again for manchestermusic.co.uk in 2003, and now co-manages the site as well helping out with local bands, campaigning against pay-to-play promoters and holding down a proper job to fund her excessive music habits. Cath is obsessed with ten inch vinyl and aspires to have one day stayed at every Travelodge in Britain apart from the shit ones on motorway junctions.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here