Pyramid Estate


Captured Tracks

Out now

Louder Than War’s Ioan Humphreys reviews the latest single from Drahla’s forthcoming LP

Drahla are due to release their latest LP Useless Coordinates on 3rd May 2019 on Captured Tracks. I reviewed their brilliant last single for Louder than War here which was amazing.

Their latest release is another slice of no wave-inspired skronk in the form of Pyramid Estate.

It’s a disjointed and a very free-form affair that you’d expect nothing less from Drahla. Immediate and wonk guitar bait-and-switch between laid back verses. These are, however, disrupted by loud and discordant experimental sax that builds to a crescendo for the final seconds.

This track may be short (1.54), yet it has a wealth of experience and influence that just cannot be measured. Drahla are one of the stand-out bands at the moment, if you are into your music served up with a no wave bent and an infectious disjointed track.


Their LP ‘Useless Coordinates’ is out 3rd May 2019.

Drahla tour the UK from early May.

2 Glasgow Broadcast
3 Leeds Brudenell Social Club
7 Manchester YES
8 Liverpool Phase One
9 Birmingham Hare & Hounds
10 Cardiff Clwb Ifor Bach
11 Bristol Louisiana
12 Southampton Heartbreakers
13 Leicester Cookie
15 London Studio 9294
16 Brighton Green Door Store
17 Oxford Bullingdon
18 Guildford Boileroom

Tickets are on sale now.

Drahla can be found via their websitelabelBandcamp, and Facebook

Words by Ioan Humphreys. More writing by Ioan can be found at his author’s archive. You can also find him on Twitter at @ioan_humphreys.


Previous articleFontaines DC: The Garage, London – live photo review
Next articleMott The Hoople: Manchester Academy – live review


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here