Dirt Box Disco: Bloonz – album reviewDirt Box Disco – Bloonz (STP Records)
Available 26th April 2014

Third album in as many years from the rock ‘n’ roll mutants; the obvious concern being that when you churn them out this quickly there is no way you can match the power of debut album ‘Legends’ and its successor ‘Peoplemadeofpaper’ – both also released via STP Records. These albums gathered praise at a similar rate to Gazza downing Carling’s…’Freaks’ lifted from ‘Peoplemadeofpaper’ even featured on the soundtrack to a recent Rimmell Cosmetics TV ad campaign; sadly the possibility of Kate Moss meeting Spunk Volcano was prevented by an (alleged) Court Order…Mr Volcano was not going to have his reputation sullied by some clothes horse!!

The album is housed in some of the worst artwork I have ever seen, certainly since the recently released self-titled album from Sheepy; but as with the Sheepy release it is at the same time genius – Dirt Box Disco are not presenting a concept, they are not raising your awareness to world issues; according to the CD text “this is the world’s sexiest music CD – put it on and touch yourself”…well I’m not going to disclose personal habits here, but I can confirm that ‘Bloonz’ demonstrates that the band have continued to forge their own path, they have clearly ignored the doubters and produced another stonking glam power-pop punk infused head spinner!

‘Standing In A Queue’ opens at full throttle; classic Dirt Box thundering down the rock ‘n’ roll highway foot hard down, solid beats courtesy of Maff Fazzo as Weab I Am and Spunk share vocal duties before stepping back to accommodate a stunning guitar solo, it’s an adrenaline coursing energy rush; whilst ‘We Are The Rejekts!’ from the gnarly guitar riff into the thunderous beats – I particularly enjoyed the nagging, almost mocking guitar squall deep in the mix whilst Weab’s distorted hollers ring out, and as ever the tsunami sized choruses…’Bullshit’ expands the Dirt Box sound, whilst retaining the trademark hooks; an incessant unsettling guitar riff had me thinking Buzzcocks at their finest – ‘King Of The Castle’ explodes “I’m the King of the castle…and you’re a fuckin bastard” a raging head fuck affirmation to immaturity; Dirt Box Disco have brought much need colour to the current punk scene, a scene often blighted by its own earnest concerns, Dirt Box are undisciplined rabble rousers; their songs assault your senses and provided a very positive kick to an often old sound, they are exciting, the rolling energy they offer is truly infectious…’I Swapped My Brain’ will have you bouncing of the walls; huge chanting vocals…”I’m like a puppy with two dicks” – as inane as it sounds within a single listen you will be singing this with the conviction the likes of Crass belted out all those years ago…’Supreme And Gobshite’ is possibly the most aggressive and hard hitting track on the album, harking back to the urgency of ‘Let’s Get Wasted’ but exploring new darker regions all the while never deviating from the Dirt Box manifesto.

Closer ‘Were Going Out Tonight’ is one of the album highlights, an explosive hedonistic paean to the ‘pleasures’ of rock ‘n’roll – just over one and a half minutes, a brutal climax to an excellent album; there are couple of tracks that frankly don’t really make the grade, I could easily do without ‘Golden Frame’, whilst ‘9 Lives’ is just too power-pop, the indefinable Dirt Box ingredient sorely lacking; everything else demonstrates quite why Dirt Box Disco are the band to challenge the ‘glass ceiling’ maintained by the punk old guard – their instinctive pop approach, their shambolic simplicity, the constant feeling of movement; ‘Bloonz’ is fun, Dirt Box Disco are fun, a punk rock circus careering into town…roll up, roll up; buy your tickets now.


  • 1. Standing In A Queue
  • 2. We Are The Rejects
  • 3. Rewind And Eject
  • 4. Bullshit
  • 5. King Of The Castle
  • 6.9 Lives
  • 7. Welcome To Hell
  • 8. I Swapped My Brain
  • 9. Supreme And Gobshite
  • 10. She Goes Out
  • 11. Golden Frame
  • 12. We’re Going Out Tonight


Dirt Box Disco can be found online here: dirtboxdisco.co.uk. They’re also on Facebook and they tweet as @dirtboxdisco.

Previous articlePunk And Disorderly Festival: Astra Kulturhaus, Berlin – live review
Next articleListen Up! Stream track off Dalhous’s new record, Will To Be Well, Due Out on Blackest Ever Black in June.
Phil Newall is 47, from The Wirral - he earns his living not writing about music nor playing music...though sorely wishes he could. He was fortunate enough to see many of the first generation punk bands when they played the U18's matinee shows at Eric's, Liverpool. As an attendee at Eric's he was exposed to punk rock, dub reggae, art rock, and all manner of weirdness; as a customer at Probe Records he was variously served and scowled at by Pete Wylie and Pete Burns - he has written for Record Collector, Whisperin & Hollerin, and Spiral Scratch and wanted to write a book detailing the Liverpool punk scene; however with 'Head-On' Julian Cope beat him to it...and frankly did a much better job.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here