Demob Happy Holy Doom album

Demob Happy – Holy DoomDemob Happy Holy Doom album

(SO Recordings)

Out Now


Demob Happy’s joyous mix of 60’s psychedelic & 90’s grunge works to great effect on their sophomore release giving us a fantastic album chock full of sleazy rock and melodious harmonies. This album rocks.

It didn’t take me long to love Demob Happy’s new album, I was only partway into track two of this, their second album, and already I was hooked. Holy Doom is a dichotomy in a few ways, with the hope and anguish of the title reflected in the music, a heady mix of sweet harmonies and psychedelic pop sensibilities & deep and dirty grunge guitar and bass. While there may be an element of bleakness and looking inwards in some of the lyrics, the vocal delivery ensures that the music is uplifting and far from austere.

The cacophony of the albums opener Liar in Your Head with siren fading into megaphone distorted vocals welcomes in grungy fuzz guitar riffs & blends them with an exquisite blend of pop psychedelia. The sleazy grunge continues into Be Your Man but mixes things up again with the spirit of late 60’s era Beatles living through the vocal harmonies.

Repetitive dirty fuzz guitar and bass underpins scuzzy rocker Loosen It as it drives its melody deep into your skull and leaves it there. Runnin’ Around starts on a similar basis with a big beautiful noise but breaks this flow and takes you on a journey floating you up into a summery sky with its dreamy vocals and spacey psychedelia then back again.
Maker of Mine adds another layer into the mix, with intense vibrating bass emanating from my speakers from the outset, accompanied by some sinister backing vocals before the introduction of guitar and a forceful vocal.

The in-yer-face, gone in just over 2 minutes head-fuck of Spinning Out picks up the speed again after the more synthesiser focussed, slower paced, higher pitched and somewhat foreboding vocals of the album title track. The rush of it leaves you dizzy after hitting you at pace and knocking you off your feet.

Fresh Outta Luck may be the last song on the album but I certainly don’t feel that way having had the fortune of listening through this album. My luck was obviously in when this little beauty dropped into my inbox for review.

Demob Happy bring the noise to venues across the UK from the 6th of April. Be there or forever face your Holy Doom…

April 2018 UK Headline Dates

6 Nottingham – Rock City
7 Manchester – Deaf Institute
8 Glasgow – Broadcast
9 Newcastle – Institute 2
10 Birmingham – The Flapper
12 Norwich – Waterfront
13 London – Borderline
14 Brighton – The Haunt

Find out more about Demob Happy on their website, the band are also on Facebook


All words by Neil Hodge. More writing by Neil on Louder Than War can be found at his author’s archive. You can also find Neil online at his blog thegingerquiff.

Previous articleLIINES announce new single and debut album news
Next articleSteve Ellis – Boom! Bang! Twang! Album News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here